ARGENTINA through my lens (episode #7) - 📸 PHOTO MEMORIES from Buenos Aires 📸

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

These are some pictures I found in my camera after I came back from Buenos Aires, and I want to share them with you because they all incapsulate one little anecdote from that journey, one more glimpse of the city that changed me like no others.

I36C1631 copy.jpg

The Super Woman.

This is a skate park in the suburbs of Buenos Aires, a really colourful one. I got inside to take pictures of some really excellent skaters who were trying out all their best tricks to impress the camera. They were all boys, but I found really interesting how the girl in this picture was the best one of all. And I was surprised to be surprised that she was the best. So often I tend to assume that this is not a playground for girls. She was there with her little brother, and she was dynamite, speeding up and down the ramps.

I36C0867.JPG

Italy.

Buenos Aires has a strong Italian inheritance and that's no mystery. Nevertheless, I did not expect to see such a glorious celebration of my country's history. A statue dedicated to one of Italy's "fathers of the fatherland" and great general Giuseppe Garibaldi, along with Giuseppe Mazzini, are watching over the central square Plaza Italia, in the barrio called Palermo, like the Sicilian administrative city. The Argentinian accent, over all the lunfardo slang from Buenos Aires, even sounds similar to the Italian one. For instance, the Italian word 'femmina' (woman), is shortened to mina; Friends call each other pibes, which comes from the Italian word 'pivello', meaning ‘youngster’ or ‘novice’.

I36C1138.JPG

Architecture success.

Puerto Madero is now one of the coolest and fancy areas of the city. Its history though is a disaster. The city went almost bankrupt to build it in 1882. It was a massive financial effort to engineer this harbour and only ten years after its completion the appearance of larger cargo ships made Puerto Madero obsolete, because it is too narrow. The New Port of Buenos Aires was completed in 1926, making the existing Madero docks superfluous. The area has been successfully converted in a chic promenade for summer night stroll, and has undergone an huge revival in merely a decade.

I36C1194.JPG

At work.

I am walking down the barrio Caballito and I meet these gentlemen. Here is where I learn two important lessons, given to me by the chef of this small bar/restaurant. He notices that I am clearly not a porteño so he wants to express something that later I learned being a common saying in Argentina. He expressed to me a pearl of popular wisdom: 'todo lo atamos con alambre!', literally 'we fix everything with a wire'. Argentinians survived several financial crisis, and learned how to make do with what they have. They recycle more, and find creative solutions to fix things. Then he also told me that this is a typical situation - one is working while everybody else is watching!

🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -34.635468 lat -58.400574 long ARGENTINA through my lens (episode #7) - 📸 PHOTO MEMORIES from Buenos Aires 📸 d3scr)

#steemitbloggers #photofeed

¡Hasta luego!

Alessandro & Elena

Sort:  

You always inspire me by the way you tell your stories!! I love reading your blog posts.

hey @edameliskaya are you from Köln? nice to hear from you..

nice photography as usual keep up the good work

nice photo and nice post.It's wonderful

Thanks @giocondo83 I think I will find some more pics shortly

Good write up on your adventures and travel. Keep it up. Bless ya.

Hey @daniewong thanks for following up my trip to Argentina

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=elenahornfilm
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=argentina-through-my-lens-episode-7-photo-memories-from-buenos-aires


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Cool photography, I love the work you do, I'm also into photography you can check my #introduceyourself post and upvote it 😊

Hello @sidamrani , that's really kind of you.

Welcome to the photographer's universe on steemit.

Upvoted your #introduceyourself post!

I seriously wanna travel to Argentina this year. thanks for the wanderlust-inducing photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52