Exploring Lush Vancouver Island, Canada Pt. 1

in #travel7 years ago

In the summer, my partner and I both quit our jobs to begin a wild and largely unplanned roadtrip from Vancouver, BC to the south western states of the US. We'd been living in Vancouver for the past year, and couldn't start a road trip without first properly exploring the incredible Vancouver Island right next to us, just off the coast of mainland British Columbia. The island is huge, and full of the most amazing wildlife - orcas, elephant seals, wolves, otters, bald eagles and black bears, just to name a few! We spent about three weeks on the island and fell head over heels in love with its raw, moody and natural beauty.

Here's what we got up to in this slice of Canadian paradise.

First up, we got the ferry from North Vancouver to Nanaimo, to head straight to Tofino, which is Canada's beauty of a surf mecca. On the drive, a waterfall stop at Little Qualicum Falls was hard to say no to.

After a day of driving, we arrived in Tofino, aka the most beautiful place on Earth. This little surf town has the most other-worldly beaches, luscious forests and a jaw dropping harbour that looks out to small, mysterious islands often covered in fog.

The sunsets and sunrises are also unreal..

Can you see why we loved it yet?

After a lot of time spent in the chilly water surfing our hearts out in thick, hooded wetsuits, it was time for a hike amongst some huge trees in Pacific Rim National Park and nearby Ucluelet. We've never experienced a more lush and dense rainforest before. The amount of life we saw in here was astounding. Mosses, fungi, frogs and birds we didn't recognise were in abundance.

We were there at the most incredible time, golden hour!

After much exploring, we devoured a locally made treat of candied smoked salmon and prepared a home cooked meal in our cosy, warm van away from the approaching rain.

After a few days in Tofino with the perfect formula of surf, hike, eat, sleep, repeat, we hit the road back east to refuel our supplies with intentions to next explore the lesser known northern parts of Vancouver Island. Follow me and stay tuned for my next post about our explorations in the wild northern region of Vancouver Island.

See you soon,
Eleanor!

Sort:  

Looks like a great place to explore during the summer months. I've stuck myself here in the tropics (for good and warm reason) but would love to check out the NW some day.

It's definitely most incredible in the summer and fall. I much prefer it to tropics I think (which is where I'm from), I can't deal with the heat!

Where are you from in the tropics?

Queensland, Australia!

Ah, have a good friend from Queensland who also lives here on Samar Island. Warm is good!

wow.. that is realy cool..

Thank you so much! You should really get there and see it yourself!

your welcome! oh yes i wish.

You are living my dream! Amazing pictures.

Haha thank you! Please upvote, follow and resteem for more! :D So glad you enjoy my photos

Done, done & done!
Hope you can do the same for me as well :)
Can't wait to see more!

Absolutely, love a Newfie! :D

Loving these photos. I've always admired the green-violet color combo, which I see in your sunset forest photos. That one with the person silhouetted on the water's edge is stunningly beautiful. Trusting you will continue to live your dreams, full Steem ahead!

Thank you so much!

Ahh, I love Vancouver Island, and your photos capture it in a gorgeous light! Planning on taking my kayak up there for a spell this summer, since I'm not a surfer like you guys.

Thank you! It honestly is my favourite place on earth. I can't get over how beautiful it is. I would looove to do a kayaking trip along the coast or inside the passage between the mainland. Followed you!

Yes! We proved we can fit all our camping gear in this kayak last summer in the San Juans but it can't handle long crossings well without a rudder, so we'll either have to buy one or stick to the Gulf Islands or Broken Group. But eventually I'd love to paddle Johnstone Strait!

Your photos are incredible. From the magical forest to the surfer running along the beach, to even cooking in the van, I loved and appreciated every shot. I am itching to get a van and go explore, so I'm living vicariously through you right now. Keep up the posting! looking forward to more!

Thank you! I'm so glad you like it and my photos, your words mean a lot! Living the vanlife is seriously incredible, it opens up so many doors to adventures you would never have even imagined before. I highly recommend it. Start with small trips and build up to huge adventures :D

Awesome post and story. I'm an OCD curator and I want to nominate this post to our daily compilation. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Yes, I accept, thank you :)

Amazing travel photos!! WOW!

Thank you! I'll keep them coming :D Please follow, upvote and resteem! :D

Hi, i got nominated by OCD too. Here is my upvote for you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34