Hidden Spots in Amsterdam (district Old West / Baarsjes)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Travelling quite frequently myself, I know it is not easy to find the really nice and hidden spots without local people guiding you. Living in Amsterdam for more than 13 years, and always on the look for great places to hang out, dine or get a drink) I can say I know quite a bit of my city.

With this post I like to help those who are interested to go 'off the beat' when visiting Amsterdam; Those who want to avoid the popular tourist spots in Amsterdam (Rembrandtplein, Leidseplein, Damrak, Rokin, Kalverstraat); Those who are interested in new and interesting experiences.

The district Old West and the Baarsjes are only a few minutes (walking) away from the popular districts like Jordaan and spots like Museumplein, Rijksmuseum and Stedelijk Museum.

I've listed my favoriete spots in my neighbourhood below with the weblink under the names.

  • De Hallen (Hannie Dankbaarpassage 47)
    Vintage stores, Excellent and super nice Food court, Historical
  • Hotel Not Hotel (Piri Reïsplein 34)
    Amazing hotel experience; One of its kind
  • Spaghetteria (Jan Hanzenstraat 32)
    Great Pasta dishes with low prices; You can even order half dishes for half the price
  • Lot Sixty One (Kinkerstraat 112)
    Coffee bar and take away with own roasted coffee
  • Pangestu 't Saotohuisje (Kinkerstraat 333)
    Go for the Suriname Soato soup
  • Deegrollers (Jan Pieter Heijestraat 110)
    Although Amsterdam has even better pizza places, this one is great too
  • Kevin Bacon Bar (Witte de Withstraat 38)
    Super Cocktails with a large selection of premium spirits

Let me know when your are visiting Amsterdam and like to get a little more advise. I'll try and help you as much as I can.

Carpe Diem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49