Freediving With Wild Dolphins in Mauritius

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_3262.jpg

First some pictures, then how this amazing adventure happened.

IMG_3256.jpg

I learned these are spinner dolphins, as bottlenecks usually only travel in small pods of 5 or 6, spinners will travel with up to around 100 or more.

IMG_3251.jpg

I was so close I could reach out and touch them. Some of them even spun around with their bellies facing up, just looking at me while swimming the exact same speed as me.

IMG_3260.jpg

While traveling through Mauritius, I was looking at location tags on Instagram because it's the best way to find the hidden gems when traveling. I stumbled across an account @marine.fantasea and she had the most incredible underwater photos and one that was even at a ship wreck in shallow water (I visited there as well and will include some of those in my next post). I knew I had found the traveler's jackpot and upon deeper investigation, I found the photographer and touring company she works for: @vitamin_sea_ltd_mauritius
If anyone is traveling over there and interested in having the experience of a lifetime.

IMG_3254.jpg

Cedric, the owner and operator started as a boat captain and through his love of underwater photography and knowledge of where the dolphins, rays, and sperm whales swim around the island was able to start his own company. He's super cool and really a talented photographer.

IMG_3258.jpg
Oh, hey, I didn't see you over there...

IMG_3255.jpg

Cannot recommend this experience enough and Mauritius in general, it's beautiful, and definitely rent a Mini-Mo as your car out there, it's a really cool dune buggy that has no doors or roof.

IMG_3264.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @dylantrussell! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dylantrussell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44