Argentina Story: 60 Keys

in #travel7 years ago

After a few years living in Argentina I wanted to buy a condo.

I was doing some research online (another post coming on that process) and found one that appeared to be nice so we setup a showing with the real estate agent.

When I get there he’s waiting out front and we start talking. Eventually the conversation dies down and we’re still just standing there awkwardly so I ask - Entramos? - Should we go in?

No tengo las llaves. Ah, ok so we wait for the maintenance guy who has the keys.

The building maintenance shows up – he couldn’t have been taller than 5’4” - and we head inside the building. When we get to the door the little maintenance guy pulls out a key ring with about 60 keys on it - one for every unit in the place.

Good time to mention that Argentina uses the skeleton key which make a key ring full of 60 of these babies quite the site.

File Mar 17, 7 23 38 PM.jpeg

He starts trying the keys in the door … one by one! Haha no way, I'm thinking.

We wait. 30 keys in, nothing. 50 keys in, nothing.

Gets to the last key on the ring … moment of truth, right? … it doesn’t work.

Y ahora? What now? I said.

Well I have another apartment available in this same building on a higher floor. Do you want to check that one out? Sure, I'm already here.

We go upstairs and out come the keys again. Luckily, this time about 15 keys in – success! The door opens.

The little maintenance guy goes in 1st followed by me, then the real estate agent. As I walk I'm thinking, that’s odd this one comes fully furnished?

Then the little maintenance turns around in a panic and says “che, está ocupado” - dude, this place is occupied - and he starts sprinting out of the apartment like George Costanza:
giphy.gif

We quickly leave and close the door.

We go back outside and the real estate agent says “ok, so we’ll be in touch”.

Haha yeah right. I'm still renting.

Sort:  

Quite an amusing experience. :) Keep sharing these!

Thanks bud! Will do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43