You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The #1 Money-Saving Travel Tip You DON'T Want To Forget…

in #travel7 years ago

Yes, Option B of removing the SIM is my preferred choice to eliminate the risk of overage charges as well although I virtually always purchase a local SIM card.

In many countries I've been to this is very, very affordable. The only thing it requires is a little research beforehand and a visit to a local cell shop, supermarket or convenience store.

For example I recently picked up a MyCall Norwegian SIM in Oslo with free calls and texts plus 10 GB of data (valid 30 days) at a cost of 299 NOK (~38 USD). Not a super deal but a good value.

Even better was the Danish SIM from Lebara I got later with unlimited SMS, unlimited voice calls from Denmark, 600 international minutes and 30GB of data all for 99 DKK (~16 USD).

Basically there is so much more value to be had from picking up a local SIM card when compared with some of the other options.

There is an excellent global prepaid SIM wiki that I reference before trips to decide what I want to purchase when I arrive. Look up your country of choice on the wiki here.

Sort:  

Yep. thanks adding that into the dialogue - makes for the perfect third option!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51