Who am I? My story of 5 years spent traveling the world told via my photos

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

When I graduated from college I knew I did not what to get a "real job" right away. So I didn't. I worked at a restaurant, a tech company, and online as a freelance photoshop editor all at the same time for 4 months straight and saved enough money to launch my trip.


-cliche photo of me looking into my future, San Francisco, 2011

I chose to start in Helsinki, Finland for no apparent reason other than that is seemed like an interesting place I had never been. My goal was to use hitch-hiking as my only means of transport and chouchsurfing.org as my only means of boarding.


-and it was an interesting place!

I wanted to hitch-hike and couch-surf my way from Helsinki through all of Eastern Europe and eventually end up in Greece or Croatia and then possibly continue on into the middle east indefinitely to see a friend living in Egypt. ( The Arab Spring happened, but that is a whole other story)


Tallinn, Estonia

That plan went to crap pretty quickly...an ex-girlfriend was partially to blame, but my own constantly changing mind was equally culpable. In the following posts I will tell my zig-zagging story via photos and anecdotes that I have never property compiled in one place.


-spoiler: I ended up in a lot of places I hadn't planned on going

I hope it is cathartic for me and possibly interesting for someone out there. If anyone ever has questions about visiting a place I have been, feel free to ask in the comments!


hint: Portugal is great, you should visit Portugal.

Sort:  

Lovely post.. "The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”
― Augustine of Hippo

Welcome to steemit ~ great photos and introduction! :))

Wonderful photos..it would be nice to read more about your experience from the places you've been to!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.67 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Great posts and story of your travels! Thanks for sharing!

Welcome to Steemit! If you're interesting in Steemit Tips and Tricks, you should follow me! 💓 Great Educational Post about Steemit

Learn how to include Smiley's & Icons

Align your post Left & Right and how to paragraph

Information about Steem Power & Vested Steem

Good work with your Introduction Post!

😎

Good for you for creating the freedom to travel when you're young. I bet it has enriched your life and expanded your viewpoint in unexpected ways.

I sure hope it has! haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41