My adventures in Ioannina, my favourite part of Greece: a photo essay

in #travel7 years ago

In 2014, I visited the beautiful town of Ioannina and fell in love - with a town! It has become my favourite part of Greece. With it's incredible history involving Ottoman Turkish rule to the region's great role in the Greek Enlightenment, it's beautiful lake and the island with no name, and the rugged hinterlands and the amazing mountain villages of Monodendri, Vikos, and Koukouli, the region is one I will have to return to as soon as possible.

Here I present my photo essay of Ioannina (all photos taken by Dr Robert Muller).

DSC_3273.JPG
Up near the mosque of Ali Pasha and still inside the walled city of old Ioannina

DSC_3275.JPG
A street in the old town. Note the mountains in the background - a feature of the region. Note also that the streets are only wide enough for small cars and there's not many of them in the walled part of town

DSC_3276.JPG
My cute little guesthouse in the walled town

DSC_3278.JPG
The entrance to Ali Pasha's fort

DSC_3279.JPG
Outside the old Turkish baths

DSC_3281.JPG
Looking up at the minaret of the mosque of Ali Pasha

DSC_3291.JPG
Inside the grounds of Ali Pasha's fort

DSC_3293.JPG
The old fort of Ali Pasha

DSC_3295.JPG
The museum on the island with no name in the middle of Lake Pamvotis

DSC_3296.JPG
Looking towards the mountains from Lake Pamvotis

DSC_3298.JPG
The old mosque of Aslan Pasha

DSC_3307.JPG
Back to the museum at the base of the mosque of Ali Pasha

DSC_3310.JPG
Ali Pasha'a fort

DSC_3311.JPG
Another intriguing view of the mosque of Ali Pasha

My next photo essay will be the trek up to Vikos Gorge in the mountains behind Ioannina.

Written and photographed by Dr Robert Muller

safe_image.php.jpg

If you like this article, please upvote, comment, resteem, and follow me. As well, I have plenty of other great content on social issues, lifestyle, and travel, and I am also starting a series on Bitcoin and Blockchain issues in which I comment on articles written by experts in the area.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52