Infamous Fremont Troll - Seattle, Washington!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Trolls, oh no!


One cool thing to do in Seattle is actually completely free! Surprisingly enough, considering the high priced Space Needle, Science Center, Museum of Pop Culture, Aquarium, and Zoo. The Fremont Troll is located under the Aurora Avenue Bridge in Seattle, Washington.
DSC_0250 (2).JPG

This Troll found its way under the bridge on Halloween 1990. The Fremont Arts Council had an art competition to utilize the area under the bridge that had become a dumping ground and run down with drug dealers. Steve Badanes, a contractor, won the contest with the troll.
DSC_0297 (2).JPG

The Troll is 18ft tall and constructed with rebar, wire, and 2 tons of Ferroconcrete (reinforced concrete). He has a Volkswagen hubcap for an eye, and is clenching a full size Volkswagen Beetle which was originally an Elvis memorabilia time capsule. The Volkswagen had (it was stolen) a California license plate. The crushed car and out of state license plate was said to have been a 'protest' again outsider development.
DSC_0296 (2).JPG

This troll has also been featured on multiple shows/movies. Be sure to give him a nose pick visit if you're in the area!
DSC_0274 (2).JPG

What I find crazy is how my brother and my sister in law (my wife's sister. Yeah, think about that one for a second. Two brothers, two sisters) stood here on their honeymoon 5 years ago. Now my wife and I were standing here, haha. The only thing that has changed is someone liked the troll, so they put a ring on it. (Que Beyonce's 'Single Ladies')
Enjoy!
DSC_0276 (2).JPG

Info source 1, 2.


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

Do you live in Seattle? I live just a couple hours north in Bellingham. Either way, the troll under the bridge is a pretty awesome spot!

I don't, my wife and I stayed there for a few days a couple of weeks back. :) It was our first time there. We live in Northern Idaho.
It is! Very cool to see!

Wow, thanks for the travel advice. I will be visiting Seattle very soon and always look for good "insider" tips, which are for free and show the spirit of the place I'm visiting

Oh, awesome! I'm glad I could help.

Woooaaahhh.. Looks creepy,,,

So, we don't watch much TV at all, but the show, Once Upon a Time, has been a guilty pleasure of mine once all the kiddos are asleep. I've seen that troll, but didn't realize it was a real thing! So cool! Thanks for sharing!

My wife and some of her family like that show as well. I've heard it was on there, but I have never watched it before. Maybe I should! Thank you!

This reminds me of the giants in the forests around Kopenhagen, which are on my to-visit list. I'll probably never see Seattle so I'm thankful for this cool insight and the chance to meet the troll.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66