Vacation Inception: Vacation within a Vacation

in #travel6 years ago

I've been unemployed and living off of my savings for the past two months, which is a huge deal for me. I wish I could say that I was relaxed and in bliss the whole time, but alas I spent a good portion of that time looking for employment. I did manage to have some good lazy moments--leisurely mornings and late night partying, but I managed to find enough things to do that made my unemployed life still somewhat busy.

This weekend was a real treat, where I got to escape my expat life for one of tourist. For a couple of days, my partner and I went down to Sihanouk Ville, a town on the southern Cambodian border, that opens into the ocean. He had a music gig, so the first night was spent rocking out to his music, trying to avoid alcohol so I could stay awake past midnight. After an interesting night spent in a bungalow by a small lake, falling asleep to the chorus of local dogs, we spent the following day hanging out on the beach. It started off a little stressful as we looked for last-minute accommodations during the Chinese New Year holiday, but we lucked out and got a very decent room. The rest of the day was absolutely fantastic: we drank sangria, ate local food, and got massages by the beach. It was all very affordable (the massage was only $8 for example) and I felt like I was living the life! It was an interesting feeling to be in extra-relaxed mode, but I will have fewer opportunities for this very soon, so taking what I can get!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03