The Creativity of the Car Tuk Tuk

in #travel6 years ago

In Cambodia, the moto reigns supreme. I would wager that there are more motorcycles that people, at least in the capital, Phnom Penh. Aside from simply being a form of transportation for one to three people and a baby, motos are often rigged up to carts, cargo beds, or tuk tuks.
IMG_20180130_214148.jpg
IMG_20180110_103824.jpg

I just assumed that the moto was everywhere--until I visited Sihanouk Ville this past weekend and discovered a variation that took me by surprise---the car tuk tuk. IMG_20180218_105235.jpg Made from 80s era sedans, these repurposed cars made me think appreciatively about ways in which less wealthy countries don't simply throw things away, but find ways to use what they already have in incredibly creative ways. It's interesting that I saw these car tuk tuks for the first time outside of the capital, so it makes me wonder whether they are generally more popular in the country side where the lack of paved roads make it more important to have the more stable ride a car tuk tuk can offer. Still, its mere existence confirms that when it comes to finding creative ways to reduce waste, the answer doesn't always involve new technology, but being able to repurpose old!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50