TALES FROM VICTORIA- Ballarat Wildlife Park

in #travel7 years ago

Here is the second part of my travel in Victoria, this time will be sharing with you on Wildlife Park.


Ballarat WIldlife Park

Opened by Greg Parker in 1987, the park is 37-acres of natural bush land. With about 400 animal species, the park allows you to have interactive activities with some of these.

Here is their most recent schedule:

  • Koala 11.30am and 1.30pm
  • Dingo 12.15pm
  • Giant Tortoise 1.15pm
  • Snake 2.30pm
  • Wombat 3.00pm
  • Cassowary (Please enquire upon arrival)
  • Tree Kangaroo (Please enquire upon arrival)
  • Tawney Frog Mouth (Please enquire upon arrival

With about over 100 free-roaming KANGAROOS, having had to feed one is definitely one of the best experiences I had during my stay.

feed kangaroo.PNG

kangaroo.PNG

I've seen pictures of WOMBATS before, I actually thought they were hamster-like cutesies. Imagine my surprise when I saw the size of a grown wombat!

wombat.PNG

KOALAS of course are also cool to see. They are actually very sweet, hugging and all.

kangaroos.PNG

koala.PNG

Here are some other animal photos captured.

flock.PNG

lama.PNG

pigsnout turtle.PNG

If you are ever in the area, make sure to visit the wildlife park!

Sort:  

The wombat is... huge! Thank you for sharing the pictures.

It was! But was also just a huge baby, very sweetly hugging the park ranger all the time. :)

Thanks @alokkoshal! They are even lovelier in person! :)

Cool! I've never been to AU, I have an Aunt there though. Thanks for sharing these photos.

Jake approves!
giphyjake.gif

Thanks @deveerei! You should go there sometime, one thing I appreciated most in Australia is the vast space! Humans per square footage ratio is awesome, a big difference from what we are used to here. Also nature is amazing!
Loving jake and bravocado by the way =^_^=

You should have sent me there when we were in the same office haha. Just kidding. Be glad I don't have my laptop with me (still not fixed), I have a 'gif stash' there!

Lol, if only I can, I would have sent all the 150 staffs hahahaha. That would have been epic!

I will await the rebirth of your lappy.

Maybe my posts here could buy me a new one!

Or better yet, take you to Australia! =^_^=

I would definitely like that as your animals are different from North American animals.

I'm from the Philippines @breakfastchief, all the more that I appreciated Australian wildlife and nature. Awesome experience to see these creatures I only read about in books, or see in films :)

That Wombat is just adorable!!! Upvoted!

He is isn't he? A big baby!

I love this place. I have been there and love all the animals

Hard not to love them. I saw a tazmanian devil too, and was thinking, why is it too different from the taz i know of? Haha.
Heard about Patrick the Wombat's passing on though :'(

Yes I was very sad about Patrick the Wombat too. The Tassie devils are actually quite blind, which I learned from the Ranger

Oooh, nice tidbit of info on the taz, I missed that. Seriously though prior to seeing a wombat in person, and having seen some photos without doing any research, I thought they are hamster-sized!

Really? You must have surprised at how big and heavy they are

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51