Sort:  

Thanks! Getting the attention of a whale is not too easy, many only give out upvotes that benefit themselves (selfvotes, voting rings, paid upvotes,..). There are so many great posts that end up with 10 views and a payout of a few cents, so I am lucky to already have some regular readers to at least get some views and upvotes. Btw, congratulations to getting that whale upvote from curie for your post, well deserved!

I will try to split my next Cuba posts in smaller posts; It seems that two smaller posts will get me twice the amount of views, upvotes and new followers as one bigger post; @world-travel-pro recommended me to do that and he has to know!

That is some sound advice from @world-travel-pro!

Of course it's better to build a regular, engaged audience in case the whale never comes. Even an average of $5 a post is worthwhile though, given the value of SBD at the moment.

What I have noticed about whales is they seem to be active around 8pm North American time and 8pm European time. The way the curation payouts work, if they see your post when it's less than 30 minutes old and only has a small payout, they will wait until it's 30 minutes and then hit it with a big vote. They will get the majority of the curation payout because they found the content when the value was low. If you get a whale vote once every two weeks, Steem then becomes a pretty decent income!

Of course the dream is to get followed by a whale. But if you notice someone who has been followed by a whale, you can follow that person and then vote on their content when it's 28 or 29 minutes old and you'll get good curation rewards.

This is actually some pretty decent tactics you have there! And you are right, with the current price of SBD even a payout of 1-2 Dollars for a short post makes up for the time spent creating the post.

I think from now on, if I have a post over 2000 words, I'll split it into two. I can get very in-depth with my stories so it makes sense to double my visibility and increase my potential to earn some decent upvotes.

Follow @k-a-s-i-a and check her profile at around 7-8pm European time for curation rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60569.85
ETH 2584.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69