You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Climbing Up an African Monster: Table Mountain

in #travel8 years ago

When I lived in Vancouver there is a hike similar called the Grouse Grind, up a mountain. I don't know how it compares to this, but I remember one of the saddest moments of my life was when I had hiked it for 20 minutes and was dying (as old people were flying by me - I was in brutal cardio shape) and I kept hoping I was near the top... I saw a sign ahead and I prayed it said it was the peak.. it said, "You are 10% of the way!"... I decided I couldn't do it and tried to go down, only to find out going down was just as hard as going up! I eventually made it to the top and will never do it again. :P

Sort:  

Great story, Made me laugh! I can totally relate to having high hopes for the peak only to be utterly let down by the lack of cardio strength. At least you did it and you won't have to wonder. Heading to Zimbabwe today, it'll be interesting to talk to some locals about life after hyperinflation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58404.34
ETH 2367.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45