Experience New Things

in #travel7 years ago

One thing that I have learned after almost 10 years in the military and traveling not only the country but the world is you have to get out and experience new things and meet new people. All to often was I stationed somewhere that others hated for one reason or another where I thrived and loved the area. One instance was while I was stationed in Hawaii. Now you may ask yourself how would someone hate Hawaii but it happened, they would get in the routine of sitting in their dorm and get island fever and just want to get away. The remedy I have always found to "homesickness" was to get out in the community and make new friends and become part of the area. In Hawaii it was hiking, fishing, diving, any water sport, ect. Anything you could do to enjoy the local area and culture would take your mind off home and let you make home wherever you are.

Corsair2.jpg

The image above is one I took while living in Hawaii of a F-4U Corsair that went down off the island of Oahu in 1942 during a training exercise and rests 107' down on the sea floor. One of the adventures I was able to experience by getting out and finding things to do. Diving happened to be something I had never done but it looked like a good time and what better place to learn than while living in Hawaii.

053011143810 - Copy.jpg

Though water may not have been your thing there was always a beautiful view on the island if you went for a hike. Your experiences and opportunities are endless you just have to get out and find them.

![IMG_0002.JPG](

Large green sea turtle resting on the deck of the sea tiger 130' down off the coast of Oahu, Hawaii.

Sort:  

those are very cool pictures. I love the turtle. Thanks for your service in the military. God bless :)

Thank you very much for your support and turtles are always a cool experience I'm glad you enjoyed it.

nice pictures.i support you if you support me @junaidtarar

Thank you very much and of course

Although i'm not american, i always have the utmost respect for all military personnel

Thank you very much

Wow amazing. I would love to dive in Hawaii too someday!

It is so beautiful with tons of sea life and clear water.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60582.68
ETH 2607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55