You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Auschwitz: Reflection on Family and Visit

in #travel7 years ago

Fair enough. I'll have to look further into the numbers on that. I kind of got the impression that most of the raping of Ethnic Germans was done by the Russians in any case. But regardless, I wholeheartedly agree that what ultimately matters is the desire to not perpetuate these types of crimes (as is currently being done to native Swedes in their homeland--courtesy of the organized migrant invasion (posing as a refugee crisis).

What struck me most from the film was learning about the Transfer Agreement, or Haavara Agreement, wherein the Reich successfully transferred around 60,000 of its Jewish citizens to Israel with all of their assets in tact (a mutually beneficial pact for both peoples). And that it was attacks from American Allied forces (displeased with how the agreement fragmented their boycott of German goods) which ultimately brought it to an end.

This type of economic and strategic context is highly relevant, and suspiciously absent from what we (again, Americans, I speak for no one else) are taught growing up. I don't doubt for a moment that great and terrible suffering occurred during this time, and have no desire to detract from that. Only to reconcile the lies that my country may have perpetuated about its own involvement in the matter, and honor the dead by ensuring that their story is properly understood.

I hope I have not offended you in any way. Again, thank you for sharing the wonderful pictures and personal account!

Sort:  

Not at all, thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59