This waterfall near Chiang Mai Thailand looks slippery but has incredible traction [VIDEO]

in #travel7 years ago

stickyfalls.jpg

I made this short video at a place that's been nicknamed "The Sticky Falls", and it's not hard to see how it got that name. When you arrive and see people walking over the steep rocks in the water, it looks really dangerous. But because the traction is so good, it's actually pretty safe.

The reason for this is the high mineral content in the water. As it flows over the rocks and tree roots, it gradually coats them in limestone. It's the same process that creates stalactites in caves, but instead of a slow drip of water, it's a fast flow.

The waterfall is actually called Nam Tok Bua Tong (น้ําตกบัวตอง), but if you want to take a taxi there they'll know what you mean if you say Sticky Falls. It's easy to go in a car or on a motorbike as well. It's about an hour's drive north of Chiang Mai and quite easy to get to. It's marked on Google Maps and there are signs at the turnoff. I've had the place entirely to myself both times I've been, once by going late in the afternoon and waiting for everyone to leave, and once by arriving around 9 am before others get there.

The song in the video is by the Petch Phin Thong Band and is from a traditional style of Thai music that in the 1960s and 1970s became infused with jazz and latin rhythms to create what I think is a really cool sound. https://www.soundwayrecords.com/Shop/PhysicalDetails?pid=SWR_PH_18

Sort:  

Wow, that looks kind of scary! It does look very beautiful though and I'll trust you on the good traction part :-)

haha, there are some ropes you can use too, just in case ;)

That feels a bit safer :D

Looks scary but fun. I should revisit Thailand!

You should!!! BTW I love your bucket list and especially love that you have 'make a documentary film' on it :)

Yes, when I'm ready to be on the road again, I will. Maybe meet some of my followers ha!

Thanks!

oh and I'll take you cliff jumping if you come ;)

It's scary but I should finally have to cross it off my bucket list at some point lol.

I'm an American living in Hua Hin, Thailand. Love to see info about places to visit here.

Following you now.

Thanks! I'm from Chicago, living somewhat nomadically around Thailand. I'll be posting lots about Thailand here. Still never been to Prachuap though... Following you as well.

Hua Hin area is more of a golfers paradise. Golfing capital of Thailand. Beaches are great, but not in the top 10. Has everything though from monkeys to elephants and ocean without the huge party scene.

Nice. I'm not much of a golfer but I've enjoyed playing. I'd probably like it much more if I were better LOL

What a great place! Now following you!

I been there 2 month ago.It's really nice place :)

Wow. That looks like straight out of another world! Thailand never ceases to amaze me. Thanks for sharing.

I just wrote an article about how I almost got burned in Thailand. Maybe you enjoy reading it (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58