EuroVelo 6 - France, Paray le Monial - Bourbon Lancy 60 km

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Woke up this morning in my tent by a group of happy birds, what an amazing orchestra they offered me, to be honest with you I didn’t move for another half an hour just to continue to enjoy them singing. Today its yet another sunny day, I can see the sun light filtered thru the tent walls worming up the atmosphere inside, time for me to go out.

Today we are going to see two aqueducts and a castle on our way to the medieval town of Bourbon Lancy, so stay close!


Digoin stone aqueduct 1834-1838


Here is the itinerary for today:

We continue cycling along the Canal du Centre to Digoin. Peaceful flat ride, no engines around, pure joy riding so close to the water.

  Canal du Centre

Just before entering Digoin I came across a canal junction and I stopped for a closer look. I like to stop for as many times necessary if I see interesting things on the road, I’m not rushing to destination, I enjoy my ride as much as I can, I guess you can see that :)

Here a smaller canal called Rigole de l'Arroux joins Canal du Centre. It is 14 km long, has two locks and was built between 1867-1869. Its main purpose was to supply water to Canal du Centre from the Arroux river. I also discovered here a small metallic aqueduct (Schneider) over the Bourbince river, a first for me.


Small aqueduct over Bourbince river connecting Arroux river to Canal du Centre


End of Canal du Centre 

Few kilometers away is the beautiful stone aqueduct in Digoin, one of the first major aqueducts in France built by the french engineer Pierre Alexandre Adophe Jullien when he was only 29, between 1834-1838.


Digoin aqueduct 1834-1838


243 m long stone aqueduct crossing the Loire river

Went for a quick town visit and a sandwich at a terrace in the center before crossing on the other side.


Church Notre Dame de la Providence built in romano-bizantin style in Digoin


The junction of the Canal du Centre and the Canal latéral à la Loire


Here are some quick facts about Canal latéral à la Loire:

  • constructed between 1827 and 1838 to connect the Canal de Briare at Briare and the Canal du Centre at Digoin
  • 196 km long

Source:Wikipedia

  • 38 locks
  • replaced the use of the River Loire which had reliability problems arising from winter floods and summer droughts.

Cruising along Canal latéral à la Loire


Bench of truth is real, it's on EuroVelo 6, myth busted :)



Loire river in Diou


Just 10 km to Bourbon Lancy I saw another castle sign and of course I went to see it. Arrived a bit late for a castle visit but I really liked its flower fields and the gardens.


Château de Saint-Aubin sur Loire (1771-1777)


Flower fields surrounding the castle


Generous castle gardens


It was getting late, time for me to check again the map for a camping. Found one in Bourbon Lancy, googled it for reviews, all good, so my home for tonight will be in Bourbon Lancy.

Arrived at the camping around 8 PM, set up my tent, took a shower, then I decided to go visit the old town before it was getting too late. So back on the bike ready to explore the small cobbled medieval streets of Bourbon Lancy.


Camping du Breuil, Bourbon Lancy, nice one!


Here are some quick facts about Bourbon Lancy:

  • the city's history spans well over 2000 years
  • it is a spa town with thermal springs which have been known since Roman times, when it was known as Aquae Bormonis and enjoyed great prosperity
  • it has an authentic medieval belfry, wooden frame houses and fortifications which date from 1495
  • it was an important stronghold and a fief of the Bourbon family

Bourbon Lancy medieval center


Modern art public space exhibition in Bourbon Lancy


Summer local event concert near my camping :) 


Perfect end for an amazing day, that’s why I love so much bike touring.
Chose adventure for your own life!

Sort:  

Arent you lucky?would love that kind of life and in france too

You can do bicycle touring in France with as little as 50 Euros/day or less. It costs more to get there I agree :)

Even less if buying food from monoprix or day markets!

Congratulations @discovereurovelo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @discovereurovelo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50