EuroVelo 6 - France, Montchanin - Paray le Monial 66 km

in #travel8 years ago

Today it's a beautiful summer day, calm, perfect for cycling.

While having a cup of coffee in the morning I looked over the map and planned for the day. Most of the route today will be flat along the Canal du Centre.
Here is the itinerary for today:

Packed the bags and mounted them on the bike ready to further explore the beautifull Burgundy.


Here are some quick facts about Canal du Centre

  • is a French canal running from Digoin to Chalon-sur-Saône connecting Canal latéral à la Loire to the River Saône

Source:Wikipedia

  • opened in 1792 and made it possible for the first time for boat traffic to pass from the north of France to the south

Source:Wikipedia

  • it is 112.1 km long
  • it has 61 locks
  • most of its traffic came from the coal mines at Montceau-les-Mines, closed in 2001
  • presently the canal serves mostly touristic purpose being used for leisure boats


Monceau les Mines marina


Canal du Centre


Automatic lock on the Canal du Centre used mostly for small leisure boats

In the afternoon while getting closer to Paray le Monial I saw a sign with Chateau de Digoine and I decided to go for a quick visit. The castle was built in the 18th century by the Digoine family, nowadays being a private castle opened for public. Unfortunately was closed at the time I arrived but this didn’t stopped me to follow the generous entrance fenced by tall trees until the gate to have a closer look. It is a beautiful castle built in the neo-gothic style complete with a 35 hectares garden labeled jardin remarquable and a 5 hectares pond…quite a nice property I would say :)


Chateau de Digoine 18th century, Burgundy


Shared road with moderate traffic to Paray le Monial


HI!
Refill time, I run on bananas and peaches all day :) 


Continued EV6 until Paray le Monial, lovely little town in the Saône-et-Loire department in the region of Burgundy in eastern France. The town landmark is the Romanesque church of the Sacré-Coeur where I stopped for a visit.


Romanesque basilica of the Sacré-Coeur ("Sacred Heart") built between the 12th-14th century





Then I followed the small streets which led me to the historical centre where I discovered another beautiful building, Saint Nicolas tower, built during the 16th century, superbly projected on the sunset light.



Saint Nicolas tower, 16th century, in the beautiful evening light



As the night approached I looked for a camping on the map and also on google maps for reviews and I found one just outside the town.



Decided to stay, so tonight I have the pleasure to sleep in my thousand star tent under the clear sky of Burgundy. I love sleeping in the tent close to the nature escaping the daily concrete walls. By the way the campings in France are cheep and clean, I paid around 10 Euros for the night.


On my way to the camping


Camping de Mambré, Paray le Monial, very nice!



My neighbour for the night


After installing my tent I had a refreshing shower before heading for the dinner at a nearby Chinese restaurant, long live Google maps!


On my way to dinner 


Good Chinese restaurant outside Paray le Monial


I’m not counting calories today :)


See you on the route tomorrow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51