Travel South America #9: Trekking the Chilean Patagonia

in #travel7 years ago

The second hike on my Patagonia diversion was to see the three distinctive soaring granite peaks of Torres del Paine, the three towers of the Paine mountain range. This sight is located in the southern Chilean Patagonia and I decided to drive from El Calafate (Argentina) to the nearby town of Puerto Natales (Chile) in order to do this trek.

The drive itself took nearly 3 hours however along the way, I was lucky enough to see some truly spectacular views. I drove there in the evening and was even lucky enough to see the sunset as I made my way across the border. However, this was nothing compared to some of the sights I saw on the trek to the top.

I had to stop to admire this amazing sunset as I drove from Argentina to Chile (Take on my GoPro)

When entering the Torres del Paine national park, you have the option of doing a 5 day camping and trekking excursion. Due to time restraints, I was only able to do the final leg of the excursion, however this 10km trek took me to see a view I will never forget in my life:

Torres del Paine: Absolutely incredible! (Taken on my Sony Xperia Z3 Compact)

The Chilean Patagonia is absolutely incredible, with such a rich biodiversity of flora and fauna, a trip to the southern part of the South American continent would not be complete without a visit to these amazing towers.


TAGS: #landscapephotography #photo #colorchallenge #spanish #freedom #creative #lifestyle #chile #argentina #nature

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54