Backpacking Alone: One Month Later

in #travel6 years ago

Backpacking Alone: One Month Later...

Where better to reflect than on an open road...

It's coming up to one month since I started backpacking across the amazing South American continent on my own. So far I have visited Brazil and Argentina and have fallen in love with travelling. I love the freedom of meeting new people constantly, seeing some of the best sights in the world and having life changing experiences. Here are the highlights of my trip so far:

A Lapa Street Party

Lapa is the bohemian district of Rio de Janerio. Very well known for its traditional bars, live music clubs, dance halls and open air samba jams. Every Friday night, Lapa hosts Rio's largest street party. Vendors line the streets selling beers and Caiprinhas, as Brazilian funk music blares through the speakers. Everyone is there to dance and party and it is unmissable if you go to Rio.

A great time with some local friends!

The Bombonera

I am a huge football (soccer) fan and so when I reached Buenos Aires, Argentina, I absolutely HAD to visit this amazing stadium. Having a photo taken with the shirt of one of my favorite players, Carlos Tevez, will be something I hold for a very long time.

Football shirt selfie!

Patagonia

Initially, I was never planning on going to Patagonia, but as it so regularly happens in backpacking, a spur of the moment decision led to me booking a flight to the southernmost part of the continent....and what a decision this ended up being! From seeing one of the world only advancing glaciers (Perito Moreno glacier) to trekking to the bottom of the granite towers of the Paine mountain range (Torres del Paine). A trek up to 3,400m for Cero Fitz Roy in Argentina definitely sticks out in my mind due to the freezing cold temperatures at the top, however seeing the frozen over glacial lake definitely made it worth it!

The frozen lake of Mt Fitz Roy

TAGS: #landscapephotography #photo #colorchallenge #selfie #explore #art #freedom #creative #lifestyle #brazil #argentina #nature
Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dippy-rascal to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87