In Palawan, One of the World’s Most Beautiful Islands, I Met a Guy Who Unknowingly Changed the Course of My Career

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

One of the most rewarding things about being a habitual traveler is going home not being the same person anymore, transforming into a better human every time or having a few of life’s uncertainties figured out.

When I go to places thousands of miles away, I seek for experiences outside of my comfort zone and want to engage with people who share valuable pieces of themselves. In a nutshell, that is why I travel. 

One time in Palawan, Philippines, considered as one of the most beautiful islands in the world, not only did I appreciate the beauty of nature in its purest form there, I met a guy who unknowingly influenced me in my life’s biggest indecision thus far: my career.

It was February 2017. I and my travel buddy Lemuel explored the famous island, discovering the several wonders of nature the place offers. That particular trip was unforgettable for many reasons. 

In our trip, since there were only two of us, we were merged with other visitors – not necessarily travelers – of different descent in a group, both in our Puerto Princesa and El Nido trips. The boats and vans are pretty expensive if we exclusively hire them just to explore Palawan’s best. We are fine sharing with strangers. 

More than fine, actually. And I’m thankful that we did share. 

During our tour in the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park, which is a highlight of our Palawan itinerary, I and Lemuel got into a group of old people. We were the only twenty-somethings there out of nine.

At first it was difficult for us to relate with the rest – with all the terrible adult jokes they make in the van from the city proper going to the river – but eventually we caught up with a few of them. Especially these three.

It started with a small talk. Like, “How long do you think this trip will take before it’s finished?” asked one of the ladies. Then, for the sake of being respectful, we introduced ourselves. They did the same and went on to share what they do when not on vacation. I and Lemuel followed, thinking the 8-hour trip wasn’t meant to be spent only between the two of us. 

By then, I found out that the guy named Emmanuel Bernal is also an engineer, but in the field of electrical. He shared that he graduated in Mapua and later worked in the renewable energy sector in California. Already retired, Engr. Bernal at the time is taking a short break with his wife and his sister in Palawan.

As soon as he mentioned about renewable energy, my eyes glistened. Lemuel, on the other hand, instantly grabbed me by the shoulder, knowing that I have plans on building a career in such industry. What a small world, we thought. 

Engr. Bernal was ecstatic to learn that the young ones in the group are civil engineers. What he failed to know, however, is that we were more ecstatic than he was —we felt that that day was going to be a day full of wisdom.

He did not disappoint. 

The engineer talked about his personal experiences relating to his profession in the remaining part of our trip, with Lemuel also eager to listen and learn. Such made us talk more with him than our tour guide. 

There were a lot of things I learned from him that day in engineering, in the renewable industry, and life in general. He gave advices, one of the most unforgettable is this: never forget to be good to others especially when you are capable. And when you are old. You can't take your riches— don't have to be money— to heaven so you have to pass it on the most meaningful way possible.

Another notable thing that the engineer talked about is his unique invention, according to him, about a solar panel which changes its angling position based on where the sun is shining. He explained in detail how the system works. At the time, I and Lemuel were in awe that we had such an engineer in our midst.  

We had to cut our conversation short for the tour. Here is a photo during our boat ride in the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park:

A little later after the tour, I told Engr. Bernal about what I know about renewable energy. I also shared to him that I got the knowledge from being a home-based content editor of an engineering website, often reading news on solar, wind, hydro, and geothermal energy. 

Moreover, I revealed my career plans: me pursuing a career in the solar industry and getting a master’s degree in renewable energy in the future. He encouraged me.

It was perfect timing for him to appear in my life because at the time, I was looking for signs. I asked myself multiple times, “Should I risk going after a career that I do not have formal training about and not make use of my civil engineering degree?”

Engr. Bernal answered my existential question inexplicitly.

“If that’s what you want, go for it. Plus, renewable energy is an interesting and growing sector right now. We need young bloods like you to be involved.”

That moment was an affirmation that someday, my career plans will be realized if and only if I will go for it. That may not have been the case a year later as I still cling to my online job right now, but I keep my hopes up that with the right circumstances I will soon become a renewable energy engineer. Engr. Bernal sure is instrumental in this career decision.  

Not wanting to end my connection with him in Palawan, I asked Engr. Bernal for his e-mail address so we could still communicate with each other. He then offered to give me some of his resource materials on solar energy and even a place to stay in California in case either Lemuel or I will take a vacation there sometime in the future. Here is an e-mail to prove that we connected after:

Needless to say that it was a delight meeting Engr. Bernal.

I only expected to see the best in Puerto Princesa, but then again I travel for the places or experiences and the people I meet – both were fulfilled in my trip to Palawan, with the latter having a significant impact in my career decisions. 

To end this post, here are some photos of my excursion in Puerto Princesa and in El Nido:

Perhaps in your visit in this beautiful place, you could also meet someone that will change your life forever in one way or another. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65