Update on life in Zambia!

in #travel6 years ago

Hey all
So I found out where I’ll be living for the next 2 Years! I’m going to be posted in northern province out in luwingu district. I’m super excited about. 2 weeks ago I was able to visit northern province and visit my future site. I also was able to meet many other volunteers who live in northern. Northern is known as the fun province and so far everyone I’ve met has been dope!

At my site I have a host family but it will be a little different than in training. Instead of like in training where I live on my families compound and they cook meals for me at my permanent site I have my own compound and my host family lives next door. I will cook my own meals and will generally have much more independence. My house in the village has 2 big rooms so I’ll have much more space than in my current hut. I’ll also have my own insaka (gazebo like hang out/cooking space). My host father will also most likely be my counterpart for activities I do in the village. He is very enthusiastic and I’m super excited that I get to work with him.

Some activities he wants to do are implanting different gardening techniques, building a fish pond, and improved chicken raising. I will also be working at the local school possibly teaching 2 days a week. I still have about a month of training left before I go back to live permanently but I can’t wait to be back in northern province.

Here’s some pictures of my future site!
F7BBBFB7-2393-4B23-B7DF-72269CD29C28.jpegD81D025A-AC87-4960-BEB7-3610CF98AA32.jpeg6AB49560-9C62-4E7B-80B8-AE8D6E88FDE9.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45