My Last Day in Glacier- The Time I Helped Save a Life

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The Day Begins

So, it was my last day in the beautiful park

I was exhausted from hiking the previous two days and wanted to give my weary body a break, so I settled on Avalanche Lake trail, a 6 mile roundtrip. It was a nice, but a little crowded, although it offered a wonderful prize at the end.

No photo credit in this post. Phone broke on the way back from the trip and I had only backed up a couple photos on Facebook thus far. None of which were involving this day.

The hike was fairly uneventful, except my poop over a log with leaf toilet paper, but I built up an appetite. I had this great idea to revisit where my family had a decade earlier, a large rock outcrop down stream from small waterfalls and rapids. It was just off Going to The Sun Road and a popular spot for people to stop. I also wanted to jump off the small cliff like my dad had done so many years earlier.

I was lucky to find a parking spot, then climbed my way onto the center rock. It was a warm day outside, the sun felt perfect. There were a dozen or so others out and about in the area. Many families with small children. A hearty meal later, and I was eyeing the cliff, it didn't look too high. I stripped down to my swim trucks and headed toward the water edge. There was a swift current, which typical of me, I underestimated. I was pushed downstream of my target and I didn't have the strength to hold on and pull myself up against the current. I floated down to the swimming hole, climbing back onto the rock for round two. This time I swam right to where I wanted, I used all my strength to pull myself up. I gave my muscles a little praise.


rock on the far right was where I jumped

Once I climbed the granite, the nerves started to kick in. It was a farther fall then it looked and I needed to jump a certain distance to clear the rock. (jumping is not my fotre). Of all the traditional "black" traits, jumping and any semblance of rhythm have always eluded me. I peered down into the clear cold water below and I thought it was deep enough. There was a submerged log on the left side, but I was safe otherwise.

I took a moment to rev myself up. Others were watching now. Then I bolted toward the ledge, taking a strong leap and plummeting past the rock outcrop. The cold water hit like a train, and my testicles shriveled up and ascended from wince they came. Adrenaline and air met me when I surfaced. I was chilled, but with the heat, sun, and dry towel, I quickly warmed up after. I snacked on cheese curds, and popped open a beer.

About half an hour later I did it again, just as thrilling.

I decided that was the last, no need to press my luck. I was sitting drying off, when I heard a blood curdling scream coming from atop the mini water fall and rapids. I whipped my head around to see a child's head going over the top rapid, then disappear. I ran across the rock and dove in when he emerged.


He fell in to the right of this picture. I jumped in after the first rapid

Anyone who has had experience with rivers or rapids understands how strong they are and how much power they hold.

I dove in, landing only a few feet away and attempted to swim and reach him. The current kept me from closing, until I was able to catch the branch of a tree that was in the water. I grabbed him and just kept yelling hold on, your fine. We plunged down the rapid again. All the meanwhile I could hear the mother still screaming, yelling out either the name of her husband or child.

We were suddenly slammed against a rock out crop. Luckily, the kid and I were able to hold on for a brief moment as his father had arrived and lifted his son out of the water. I couldn't hold on any longer and was swept back downstream. I was able to navigate safely and flowed into the swimming hole.

When I brought myself out of the water, the dad ran over and with a hug thanked me.
"No problem, your welcome I told him". "Guess he's never going to forget this". I laughed. The next morning I could barley move my arm.

Just another day in Glacier

Sort:  

Glad that you were both OKAY!

Great post man, sounds like an eventful day. Imagine what would have happened if you were not there or didn't decide to jump in after him. God bless you and cheers.

Bravo!!! The family will forever be in gratitude for you. Thank you so much for saving a child. Man you had an adventurous day

They will have quite the story and that mom will probably never let that kid out of her sight. Thanks for reading!

Where is that place located? It looks stunning. Especially the blue tinted water. Seems like a shots from the movie.

Glacier National Park in northern Montana. The water is tinted that blue because it is glacial. This day was in the western side of the park, but the eastern side is my favorite. I wrote a couple posts and poems about it. It is like a movie, favorite place on earth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39