How volunteering can help you travel for free and develop your personal life

in #travel5 years ago

-Hello today I want to share with you a good way to open the road of new opportunities.This article contains the things i ve discovered during this kind of activity,volunteering.
So I started to volunteer in my first year of highschool. I consider myself a very creative person who is successful at brainstorming, this is exactly what they needed and i got myself in this group mostly because i was a very shy person.
Here is how i helped myself by volunteering: So we used to have many activities that implied teenagers and adults.I had to find a way to talk with them, to prepare myself and to keep in mind why i am here and what i want .So by learning how to get out of my comfort zone (which included being a tortoise in a shell of shyness) I met many people, some of them were ,what i like to call, the light and some of them were the darkness.The ,,light'' are the people who are naturally extroverts they usually have much experience and know many other people who could help me to get a more vast experience in what it means to be a volunteer. The darkness are the people who are there only to execute the tasks and not very open minded or friendly but i just don t want to focus on them in general because they are everywhere .Ok so this was my first experience with a volunteer club which helped me to get out of my comfort zone, to know my best points and to learn on how to communicate and work with people, especially the difficult ones.

-I also want to talk about finding the volunteer activity that fits you the best.I was inthe school s volunteer club which I thought was something special because i had the statute of the vice-president, i was representing students and i had the job to find interesting activities so they can learn something . My ideal activities were about learning how to recognize a bully , education about drugs and mental health so they cand get a better idea from professional people on how to deal with these things and what they are .Unfortunately i couldn t get my idea out in the light because the other members did not agree , they were more on the fun part like having a party in the school s canteen and using the money for...i guess they used the money for the next activity but we had like 5 parties so i couldn t understand the point anyway for me they were the ,,darkness'' the ones who can t cooperate and won t because... maybe they just don t know how .But that was the moment when i learnt how to respond to verbally aggressive behavior and where i can use my abilities.

Here we come to the best part of my volunteer journey where i could travel for free: In June 2018 i started volunteering at a reenactment group named Terra Dacica Aeterna .
I consider this my best experience for many reasons and i will list them down below:
-So the first reason is that i had to make my own clothes and i m supposed to be a dacian woman so i had to get that ancient look .It s an opportunity to learn and for me was quite funny.
-The second reason is because you have the chance to learn history in a way that you ve never did before. You can see ,touch and wear (for example)an ancient roman helmet ,see what kind of activity was pacticed by ancient people, what they used to wear and how they used to fight.

                  (Ancient dacian coups)

-The third reason is : you can travel for free.The only thign that you have to do, obviously ,is to be there and active .And you can travel for free, in your country and sometimes in other countries because there are festivals( these are the kind of big festivals ) where many reenactment associations meet.
-The fourth reason is because you will get a very yolo vibe :)), you meet people, make friends ,sit with strangers near an ancient tent at night under a sky full of stars laughing or talking about life .You drink from cups that look just like thie ancient ones .Usually they meet at a fireplace and sing ,laugh and talk.I've met many special people who are different ages from kids to elders ,and for me meeting someone new is a new opportunity because you never know what they know and how this can help you or how you can help them.
I also volunteer to help children ,who don t have parents or are very poor, to do their homework and spend time with them, this is a very good activity (if you like children/kids or if you want to know what s like to do this ) not only to feel like a good person but also to know if you would like to have a career that implies children .This is how i leant many things about myself and for me this is a soul-feeding experience. You also get some diplomas that prove the help that you offered and this will make a good image when you apply to university .

-So volunteering can be many things , but the best things that it can be is to have a soul-feeding experience , to make friends ,gain life experience and know yourself better.

(The process of making ancient roman coins by melting lead)

Sort:  

Such a amezing article. I think you are new on this platform so always be you.
Welcome to steemit

Thank you .You are very kind :)

😃😃😃

Congratulations @diana009! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68622.46
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66