The Carpathians that are worth your attention

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Nowadays there are so many places to travel, but everyone has a list of spots that he/she wants to visit most of all. Actually, my list is infinite, as I was only in Turkey, but today I want to tell you about some places in Ukraine that I love and that I’ve visited a lot of time and that you maybe visit later. I mean the Carpathian mountains!

 I see that Steemit is quite unpopular among Ukrainians and this fact frustrates me. As I said before, once I participated in AIESEC. I was a volunteer and my main duty was to popularize the culture and traditions of Ukraine. I can say that before this project I treated to my country neutrally, but after it my attitude changed a lot. I don’t know whether a foreign country influenced me and changed my ratio or other interns from foreign countries, who took part in the same project as I did and narrated about their motherlands with inspiration or maybe the fact that I’ve been living in another country for 2,5 months. Who knows, but I began to love my country, its customs, food and people who live there.  Several years ago I thought that Ukraine is quite poor for places to travel, but once I went to the Carpathian mountains and I changed my opinion forever. Actually, I was 11 years old when I first was there and I can say that that time I didn’t pay much attention to all those sceneries and nature. But then when I was 18 years old I decided to go there with my lovely groupmates, my girls, with whom I’ve spent the best moments during my study. We decided to go to Mukachevo. It is a city located in Zakarpettia Oblast, in Western Ukraine. You know, the Carpathians are a mountain range system, but I am used to calling all these villages and towns that are situated in Western Ukraine the Carpathians. So, as I said before we decided to stay in Mukachevo. If you take a look at the map of Ukraine, you will see that this city is in the middle of all tremendous sightseeings that I will tell you about a bit later.  Before going to this trip my friends and I planned our route. And I think that planning any trip is an important fact if you want your journey be perfect. 

On the first day we decided to explore Mukachevo. Of course, first of all we went to the central square. There is a city hall, but I can say that it is just a beautiful square with an alleyway, where you can sit and admire the views of the churches, that are next to this square.

Then we determined to go to Palanok Castle, that is the main sightseeing in Mukachevo. It is located on a volcanic hill and consists of 130 rooms with a complex system of underground passages connecting them together. But it is not the reason why you should visit it. The main reason is the view that opens from this castle. Gorgeous, isn’t it?

 Also, on the territory of this castle you can find a few shops, where you can buy Ukrainians’ clothes, souvenirs and many other trifles. If you take an excursion, maybe it will be interesting for you to hear about the history of this castle: how it was build and how underground passages were used many years ago. We didn’t take a tour guide because all these stories make us bored and tired. But if you like history, it will be very exciting for you. After buying some souvenirs we decided to have a picnic on the Latorica River and made some photos.

Our second day had been planned before we went to Mukachevo. We took an excursion to Sinevir, Pylypets and 2 springs. You can see the sources below. Just imagine, these springs not only have a strange colour, but also their smell is so terrible. I can’t imagine how people drink such water, but it is said to be therapeutic. I don’t know whether it is true but I tried it and I will never do it again. But I have never seen the springs that have such colour, so it was a bit cognitive.

Also a plus of visiting them is that the driver, who showed us these springs, brought us to Polonyna – a landform, usually used as a pasture. You can see a beautiful view from that place.

 Then we went to Pylypets, a town where I’ve been a couple of times. We went there because there is a cable car on which you can ride. You know, one of my fears is height and it was a real test for me but I liked it. It is worth it. 

Then we went to Shypit, which is a waterfall near Pylypets. In Ukrainian Shypit means whisper. There is a reason why this waterfall has such a name. It has a loud voice, which in the distance is heard as a whisper. 

Our next destination was Synevyr. But we made a break and went at first to «kolyba» - a local café, where you can taste Ukrainian dishes. I like such cafes, as their design is so unique and their atmosphere makes you feel comfortable. 

Moreover, a lot of such cafes have traditional clothes that you can put on and make photos.

After having dinner, we went on our trip and came to Synevyr, the largest lake in the Carpathians and  one of the seven natural wonders of Ukraine. There is a small island in the middle of the lake, which is called the Sea Eye. A legend claims that the lake appeared out of the tears of the girl Syn, because her love, the Vyr, was killed by her father. You cannot imagine what emotions overfill you when you stay on the beach and see all this with your own eyes. All these bridges around the lake, small black fishes that resemble leeches, transparent water and nature make you think that you are not in Ukraine. 

Unfortunately. this place was our last destination and we went home. Our third day was as saturated as the second one. We decided to go to Beregovo, a city which is 34 km far from Mukachevo. We went there to swim in thermal waters, hot springs, which extremely moisturize your skin. We spent there all day by swimming in the pool, sunbathing, swimming in hot springs and drinking cocktails.  

On our last but one day we also went to other city, which is called Uzhhorod, the administrative center of Zakarpattia Oblast. The city gets its name from the Uzh River. Actually we went to this city because of 2 purposes: to try their national food and to see Uzhhorod Castle, an extensive citadel with a beautiful garden, gorgeous views and lots of exhibits.  I even made a photo in the exhibition center :) 

But I think this showplace is the one that is worth your attention. Others are typical for Ukraine and won’t evoke any emotions. But I still remember one café with national food. It is called Vertep and at the entrance there is a national dummy that meets you) You won't mix it ip with any place, I swear. After visiting so many showplaces we were so tired, that we decided to spent our fourth day like lazy seals). We went to a restaurant, ate and rested. We were so excited and satisfied about our journey. Visit Ukraine, I guarantee that you will like it and its sightseeings.  I hope you like my story. Thanks for reading! 

Sort:  

Congratulations @diana-stepasiuk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33