Steemit Dares Me to be Creative - Dealing with Life After Travel

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

C360_2017-07-14-10-02-16-286.jpg

One of the only ways to get out of a tight box is to invent your way out. - Jeff Bezos

I’m out of place...

Sometimes I wish that I had found out about steemit a year ago when I was still on the road. I would have been relentlessly writing each day about my journey. It’s never too late though, and I’m happy enough to have discovered this platform early on. Not only it’s one way for me to earn a bit of money right now, but it’s also a way to get all these stories out of my system, especially after coming back from travel. As expected, nobody’s interested in listening after having done all those amazing things. I gave the link to my steemit profile to my friends, and now it’s up to them to read my stories or not. They also don’t seem to believe me when I told them about steemit. They say it’s too good to be true and that it’s easy money. They also bombarded me with negativity such as steemit is easy money, maybe it’s just my first post making money, and that this is nonsense etc. Well, I wouldn’t call my years of hard travel risking my life in the process and hours of writing those experiences as easy money. The good thing is that I believe in steemit straightaway. I am not ignorant of technology and I understood the system behind it, so I didn’t need a proof. Everyone seems to wait for me to show them the money as proof. But I’m afraid I’m not going to do that. I’m just going to shut up and let my life do the talking.

Doubt is the biggest roadblock to success.

I belong to the world…

I had probably dealt with job loss for many times now due to situations I couldn’t control. I had to go back to my home country because I couldn’t handle losing the freelancing job while traveling. I was tired living the nomadic lifestyle and wanted to go home, but I knew the realities of life I had to face – losing friends, being a stranger in my own land and not fitting in the puzzle anymore. So deep inside, I wanted to just continue my journey, perhaps move on to Central America, to Africa and so forth. I mean, I got tired being an outsider and not having stable relationships, but anyway I’m facing almost the same situation here in my own land. So I felt why not just continue moving.

It’s probably a sign of awareness when I start questioning myself - is it me or is everyone crazy? But I don’t really consider myself aware, conscious or spiritual human of some kind. I’m just another being facing the realities of life.

Perhaps I am meant to just deal with all these never ending difficult situations, and that nothing seemed to be perfectly working in my favor.

C360_2017-07-14-10-01-33-906.jpg

I dare to be creative…

So now, I let myself lose another job so fml for the nth time. Just when I thought everything was already perfect that I had come out rejoicing that wow finally, things were working fine in my favor. But I guess not. After moving to this desolate piece of island, in hopes of pursuing my project and the life I have dreamed of, the uncontrollable force of nature and weather conditions pushed me to the edge, unfortunately. I could go on and on and express my lack of patience for the patience of people, and blame the outside forces, but I won't be able to change anything. I should be the one to change. I have to fight controlling things out of my control.

But once again I thank the universe, because steemit is here. I mean, I’ve made some money in the past few weeks, probably enough for me to leave my place and get moving again. I’m taking this temporary defeat I’m facing as a sign to focus on my start-up project, write for steemit and perhaps do some volunteering in the island.

Steemit has so far ignited my passion for writing which I had already abandoned years ago. I’m not a professional writer or some sort, but I had an unpopular travel blog. And I wasn’t really making money from it with google adsense. Nevertheless, I love that there’s a storage for all those hidden thoughts, a safe refuge, a gateway to another world. I found writing to be somewhat comforting in these times when I had no one else to turn to, when the world seemed to have turned its back on me.

But I am grateful for what I have right now. Steemit is so far forcing me to release all those creative juices to help me get out of the tight box, hoping that it would help me carry on with the plan and pursue the dream. However, I try not to be distracted with anything, and not making money as my only motivation. If I concentrate on things that I don’t have, I will just feel deprived. So I'll just continue writing for writing sake, to make myself feel better, and perhaps to have a chance to be heard.

Steemit at the moment, is inspiring me to chase the sunset, wake up to the sunrise and bathe in this endless sea of possibities. To be part of an amazing community. To keep on moving forward.

We can create an abundant steemit universe if we just continue focusing our attention on positive thoughts. Just hold on to the vision with patience and commitment, and we can achieve that kind of life we have all been dreaming of.

Sort:  

Hi...I love your writing. But I'm always a bit wary of adding a comment because it's going to sound pretty bad in comparison! (y'know, too many emoticons/etc) ;). Anyway, just to say, I think it's pretty cool to hear steemit is proving useful to you, in some way. Oh well, guess I can try to upvote at least :)

I always love readers' comments, whatever - good or bad. Readers are like my friends. I feel the connection.

Yes, it is very useful to me, and I hope to all of us @xaero1. :)

Thanks. And thanks for the smiley :) (Probably the first thing they'd tell me to get of rid of at writing school ;) )

@xaero1 school teaches us to conform or follow the rules. But look at those people who are making big right now, they stepped outside the norm.

This is why I like the platform. On Reddit, your comment really has to be of quite a high standard and add to the discussion in some meaningful way. Whereas here I feel there's way less stress....there are not moderators and rules to adhear to - instead it just governs itself (somehow)!

I agree we have more freedom to express ourselves here! And we can be ourselves in terms of writing.

I wish I did this as well! It's so motivating to build my steem up and I have taken trips to Las Vegas, New York and Rosarito just recently.

Not too late, steemit! Thanks!

Beautiful sunset

Travelling is all about breaking patterns and making changes in you life , style and attitude.

Everyone should travel, as much possible , travelling is true life , you will surely find your purpose .

Exactly my thoughts @mysurrounding. Travel gives us a fresh perspective of the world, and lets us find meaning and purpose, in all of these. :)

I feel you... I'm home for the beautiful summer after only seven months of traveling but it feels so strange to see how nothing changed here when I feel like I've changed so much. I wish you the best of luck connecting with others around you and here on Steemit and will keep an eye out for your stories!

@therovingreader, I understand. we changed so much after travel. It's nice to meet fellow travelers here on steemit too.

Thanks!

Steemit has definitely helped me to find my creative voice, I'm very thankful for that

Yes, let's be grateful for what we have! Hopefully through our writing, we can help make this community a better place for all those artists and steemians wanting to be heard. :)

sending you hugs right now. I do believe in positive thoughts and I also believe steemit is one of the best things that's has happened. Wish you more success and can't wait to read more of your beautiful writing.

I recommended this post to @jerrybanfield . I hope it gets chosen because I really enjoy the post. Thank you.

Hey @joeyknowsbest, thanks for dropping by. Chosen for what? I got carried away with writing that I'm not really aware of what's happening around here in steemit. But I appreciate you recommending me for anything! ;)

It's a curation thing he has going on. But your payout has to be less than a dollar so you probably won't be chosen. But that's fine because your doing good here.

Haha, yeah no worries. Everything is fine. I'll just keep on writing. :)

Thanks @joeyknowsbest.

Beautiful! Yo are an inspiration to us down here thank you!

Readers like you are my source of inspiration @teslagreenhawk. :)

Upvoted & RESTEEMED!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71