Long Way Round with My Longboard

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

One does not discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time. ― André Gide

I must admit that I did a lot of stupid things during my travels, including losing my bank cards and not changing my money before crossing the border. Losing my bank cards was probably the most annoying of all. It was a pain in the back dealing with my banks while I was abroad. They just couldn't fathom that one of their clients would be traveling for a long time, so they refused to send me the replacements. Losing those was partly my fault because I gave it all away along with my laptop to the poor guy on a motorbike in Vietnam. Well, I was just robbed. Since then, I had been traveling without bank cards, bringing just cash wherever I went or just keeping my money safe online - if I even had money left. It was liberating in a way.

I just arrived in Montañita. Montañita is a village known for its bohemian vibe, beautiful sunset, and beaches with strong surf breaks. It is a nice surf town. I was here during low season when everything was a field of gray. I planned to stay here for a couple of weeks while I was waiting for my trip to the Galapagos islands. I found a beach cabin and the owner offered it for just $100 a month. It looked abandoned and I was the only one who was going to rent the place. I had a peaceful beachfront, sunset, and wifi too, what else could I ask for? It was a good deal and I still didn't know what was the catch. I guess that is another story.

C360_2016-11-02-12-51-30-209.jpg

Without my bank cards, I was just carrying a lot of cash around. You can just imagine my frustration after finding out that I brought a lot of Peruvian Soles with me, that's the currency of Peru. To make matters worse, there were no money changers even accepting this currency here. Ecuador is using US dollars and other big currencies such as Euros and Pounds are the only ones accepted by the exchanges. I went around the village and found a Chinese guy charging a lot of money for Soles-USD, but it was way too much for me. I already didn't have enough money to travel but still, I gave it all away to the banks.

For the past couple days, I was pretty disoriented. It was because of a man I left in another town but that's another story. I'll just blame myself for not thinking clearly. The worst mistake during your travels is to bring useless paper to another country.

I left my stuff in Montañita to embark on another adventure - back to the border, yay! I hit the road with my longboard. It could be annoying to travel back to the border but I didn't have any choice. I didn't have enough dollars anymore so it meant that I had to longboard and hitchhike all the way back to Peru. I didn't longboard all the way. I just did about 19 km and then hitchhiked after. You get to see these nice parts of the country when you travel slowly. If all you have is all the time in the world, then you can start walking now and reach a place where no one has ever been before. Isn't that priceless?

I took pleasure in the sound of urethane against the pavement. I loved that I could surf the pavement as I marveled at the cold waves of the sea. It was just freedom.

While I was riding the concrete wave, there were trucks and cars passing and the men were shouting some Spanish words at me. I wish I couldn't understand but I didn't really care.

When I was not along the coast anymore, I started hitchhiking. It was getting late. I was already hungry but I didn't have any money. I guess I got too distracted by the beauty around me. I realized that I would not make it to the border in time for the money exchange, so I had to be somewhere... I didn't know where but I had no issue with it. That was the whole point of my travels.

The universe sent a man who came to my rescue. I was lucky that he was also going to Guayaquil, that's just a big city full of robbers, that was where my second laptop was stolen. Well, that's another story. I explained to the man my dilemma and he confirmed that I would really not make it to the Peruvian border. He probably sensed that I didn't have money so he offered to stay in his house with his family. Before that, he was so eager to show some parts of his country along the way. There are a few good people I met in this world and I would never forget their kindness. They make the place beautiful. I remember everything.

I met his wife and his children. His wife prepared some nice local dessert for everyone just in time because I was already starving. They also took me to their other house at the other side of the river, and here I met their relatives. You get random events in your life if you travel the way I do and the people in it are worth to be told.

This place was ultra humid and there were lots of mosquitoes feeding off my skin. I had totally forgotten about the climate in this part of Ecuador. I was not really prepared but it didn't even matter anymore. I was shown around the village and introduced to the animals. And of course, it was pretty strange for the locals around here to see someone from a strange, faraway land to be here. I got random tours and a series of friendly conversations. It was possible because I learned to speak Spanish before I even got here. That's the beauty of learning a new language - you experience 'real travel'.

Humble people are the most helpful. When I was hitchhiking, I had never really gotten rides from those with nice cars as most of these people are cautious. They probably thought I would rob them of their wealth. I felt real happiness in this family and I felt that they also felt happier helping someone who needed help. I have to write and go back in time where people have really shown their kindness, to remind myself what really matters. I was told that they could not imagine their daughter being on the road, vulnerable to the harsh realities of the world. I'm used to it. I'm sorry, I didn't mean to be a burden, to be hungry, to be exposed to vile humans but I appreciate those who treated me like a human being. Love makes all the difference.

I stayed with the family for a night and went back on the road early the next day. The man even gave me some money so I could reach the border in time, and for that, I am forever thankful. I hit the road with my travel buddy - my longboard. At least, I was not all alone.

I made it to the Peruvian border in the afternoon and was able to change my money finally. This meant that I had to stay another night somewhere - I still didn't know where. That's another story again, story of my life. I even asked myself if this was even all worth the energy. I could have just changed all my money in Montañita however expensive. Maybe, but it didn't matter anymore.

Sort:  

ouch I can imagine that is not easy to deal with all of that when You are abroad. Sometimes even when You are face to face with them it is complicated. Banks... grrr... gotta hate them. But the good part is that You keep learning for the next experience. :D When it comes to Your posts I Love how You keep them real. My advice: time to take it for the next level miss. If You can improve the definition and quality of image on Your photography I think You would be able to get more People to follow You and come to check for your adventures. Maybe invest in a GoPro (You can get some not very expensive) and You can use it in Your adventures. They are easy to transport. Or if You don't want to invest in a camera right now... maybe upgrade for a better mobile phone that is easy to carry around. When it comes to cameras and image quality I would recommend You to get one of the recent samsungs :D Just a tip ehehehhe

Yeah, when you travel it is better to have several bank cards, just in case. Thanks for the advice, I'm planning to buy a better camera. I worry sometimes several hd photos take a while to load on steemit.

That is true as well. But look at examples like Miss Delicious even if she have several hd pictures people still keep going and enjoy her content. :D But You know I love Your posts anyway. Just an idea if You want to step up visually when it comes to the posts :D

Ok thanks, I will try that! :)

You're welcome. Anytime

there is something glorious in the end by getting into these stuck positions of needing to trust and having doubt
i spent new years 2001 in montanita. i wonder how it is these days.
nice post as always

That is true. I was there last year. Thanks!

What a beautiful experience, enjoy life to the fullest, every second, every moment and share it with those you love the most, always thank GOD for everything that happens to you.

If you had changed your money where you started, you wouldn't have experienced the wonderful kindness from the kind man and his family, and the village.

It's funny how life works. We are rarely given what we want, or what we deserve, but when push comes to shove, we are usually given what we need, if we have the wherewithal to know what it is when it shows itself.

Your travel experiences are awe-inspiring to me. You have lived through some crazy and amazing experiences!

Yeah, I learned a lot of life lessons during my travels.

We are rarely given what we want, or what we deserve, but when push comes to shove, we are usually given what we need

Awww this is so true. Thanks for the insight. :)

Great story I love you attitude to travel and life let it flow and see where it takes you. Glad you got it sorted and are back with some paper.

I love to travel slow sometimes I travel too slow but without a car I walk and cycle everywhere unless I get a lift but thats not often the case.

Yeah to travel slowly can be nice especially if you have time. I like it because I could easily change my plans anytime. And I feel free.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by diabolika from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46