Isla del Sol

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

12105915_10153699340448711_7051552220327476054_n.jpg

I was in Copacabana for a night but there was really nothing much to do in this quaint little town. As I walked my loneliness away, I bumped into this Chinese Canadian girl I met in Bali some 2 years ago. It is such a small world for travelers. I was too tired to meet her again or maybe I was just not excited to be with anyone that night. So I just slept.

The next day, I went to the waterfront to catch the public ferry to this place called 'isla del sol' or island of the sun. It is the largest island on Lake Titicaca, an ancient holy site of the Inca. It is just a 2-hour boat ride away from the town and I thought the place might be worth checking out.

12096193_10153699341528711_2838494138756331800_n.jpg

I found a cheap private room in front of the lake. Fortunately, there were no wifi, fancy bars, and restaurants on this little island. This is a perfect place for anyone who's looking for solitude in nature. A good opportunity to release your creative juices. If you can't stand to be alone here, then make sure to bring someone with you. It takes some practice to be alone and not feel lonely... especially in a place like this.

12118824_10153699341438711_7587825371769024150_n.jpg

You can swim in the lake when it's not too cold or you can just do some trekking around. The terrain is harsh, rocky and hilly. The roads are undeveloped and there are no motor vehicles. There are some extensive walking tracks to make your exploration easier but the sun and altitude might really tire you.

The main economic activities of the locals in the surrounding villages are farming, fishing, and tourism. There are about 800 families living on this island.

11214253_10153700988048711_7567204143987185386_n.jpg

There are more than 80 ruins on this island and most of these date to the Inca period 15th century AD. Many hills on the island contain agricultural terraces.

12140759_10153699340648711_5030470137524587580_n.jpg

There's also a lovely sandy beach where you can enjoy an afternoon of freedom and idleness. My recommended activity is to silently stare at the cloud-studded sky and calm lake. Or just read a book while enjoying the tranquility. It was just pretty much what I did on the island of the sun. But one day was enough. I was back to the civilization the next day.

Sort:  

Isla del sol seems to be a nice place for a visit. We people are so used to of iternet, so without internet/wifi facility will disturb you, so in my opinions the best way to visit in the form of groups or with newly wed partner. Thanks for sharing @diabolika

Thanks @diabolika for this post! We've been at Isola del Sol a few years ago and I still remember it as one of the best spots in Bolivia. We hiked from the southern tip to the very north, not on the Inca trail but along the shore through very beautiful little villages with amazingly friendly people. Loved it!

@diabolika, girl I didn't know you've visited Bali!!! and if ever you're going there again hit me up :D I am waiting for you visiting South east asia again and if ever I can afford Peru, you have to show me around :))

have a great day!

Awwww thanks. I don't think I will travel again to Peru but sure. But I can ask my Peruvian friends to show you around.

Any help is truly appreciated but Peru and Colombia are still way far in my travel list. Heck I am still figuring out how to be safe as a female solo travel as I read your stories, they were some days you have more challenging adventures :D and I love comfort in my travel but I know it won't teach me any life lesson.

I've had my share of accidents here and there which sometimes made me afraid of going all alone.

I understand. It is normal.

Actually, most people don't really care... or bother to hurt you or any female solo travelers. I always think I am not a special star. It helps. And I was able to go to many places with that in mind.

I love to travel and defiantly am going this beach...

Nice traveling story in Copacabana. Though it was night, it looks more beautiful like night queen. Other photographs are so beautiful from each to another. Very close to nature. Thanks @diabolika for sharing,

wonderful place
It makes you sink into the depths of yourself
I wish to visit him someday with my girlfriend
To live a unique experience
Thanks for your great posts
Touch a kind of calm and stillness in your personality
really you are a wonderful person @diabolika

I adore these lovely ducks on the first picture btw beautiful nature there

Perfect place to go have a look at alone with plenty of nature to feed the mind with. "My recommended activity is to silently stare at the cloud-studded sky and calm lake."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66