I'm Not a Travel Celebrity Here but Here's Why I Can Travel and Live Off Steemit

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

C360_2017-07-30-23-32-57-486.jpg

I am new and maybe just a whale in terms of life experiences. I invested in travel experiences that are saved in a vault somewhere down my mind, and now steemit has given me the key to unlock it. That’s 4 years of crazy, dangerous, happy, sad, exciting experiences in different parts of the world worth writing about. I only wish I have all the energy to write more posts every day.

I was a Reports/QA Analyst for like 7 years, but I didn’t find meaning in this earn more, buy more, work more anymore. Now I am more into work less and live more. Friends are getting married and I’m still that crazy woman-child who is not taking life seriously. I read a book about this artist who sketches and travels with less money, and he inspired me to travel. Che Guevara's’ Motorcycle Diaries and Into the Wild also motivated me to get out of my comfort zone and defy society.

I booked a one-way ticket and only had around $800 me. That was not really enough to travel the world actually, but during those years I met some friends along the way who helped me big time. I also had some jobs and volunteering opportunities that helped me fund my trip.

I had nothing but courage. I just trust the universe will conspire to help me achieve my dream.

I don’t think I will go back to the corporate life, a lot of things have changed and I don’t think the same anymore. I prefer to work on a start-up project however difficult, and just be my own boss someday.

Long-travel is really life-changing for me, as it has broadened my mind, gave me new ideas and meaningful experiences. Below are the reasons I can travel and live off steemit at the moment.

16112963_10154959176298711_5883314472387668420_o.jpg

I live simply

Minimalist life is the number one thing for me, and it was not an easy lifestyle at the beginning. Gone were the high heels, compulsive shopping and party days. I packed my life in a 32L backpack, and after a couple of years, I was surprised how I was able to live just with that. But of course, there is this constant adding and eliminating of stuff along the way. I always remove the extra weight as I prefer to be able to walk freely for a long time and run quickly when I need to. It is true when they say that ‘less is more’. I realized that I don’t really need that much in life, but I’m willing to invest in things that will give me some return like a laptop (I used this for writing and freelancing), camera (travel photos) and a cellphone (for useful apps). But these are not expensive brands because I always lose stuff when I travel anyway. I just make sure I have what I need.

C360_2017-06-21-01-53-38-911.jpg

When I removed all the clutter in my life, I was able to give more space for those things that matter to me.

I choose how to spend my money

Rather than buy a lot of shoes, expensive bags, and gadgets, I choose to spend my money on things that are more important to me or those that will give me some return on investment. I wouldn’t hesitate to pay the national park entrance fee or some nature activities. These are writable experiences. I will also treat myself with good food and drinks. Traveling on a budget does not mean I will deprive myself of good things, I just learned what are the things worth spending on.

I prefer a good conversation over a beer

Instead of spending money on things that I will only lose in the end, I’d rather buy you a beer, sit down on the sand and have an enlightening conversation while gazing at the sunset. We can talk about existentialism, computer, life in general or even stupid things. I’d rather spend my money to listen and learn from others and have a more human connection. I learned a lot from people I’ve met during my travel, those who gave me ideas and changed my outlook on life. And they all contributed to that vault of knowledge.

15589734_10154860745073711_1663194824022837750_n.jpg

I try to be resourceful

I don’t travel with a lot of money but there are many ways that help me minimize the costs. I usually stay with the locals through Couchsurfing, and I also found volunteering opportunities through workaway. This is helpful especially when I am traveling in expensive countries. Accommodation is one of the biggest fixed costs travelers have and the good thing is that there are now tools and communities online that can reduce the expenses. If you are not so keen on staying for free with strangers, there’s also hostelworld, airbnb, and booking.com. I also use these especially when I needed a break from people.

I don’t have to wait until my savings run out, I try to look for jobs to further fund my trip. I usually prefer to work in scuba dive shops or travel agencies as these have the perks of having free tours while earning money at the same time. I even crossed off items on my bucket list through this way. These companies sometimes don’t advertise their job openings, so I just check trip advisor and just message all of them. I get lucky when out of those messages, one will respond and accept me. It’s all about being proactive and resourceful.

I am a learn-it-all than a know-it-all

I believe that I am still stupid, and that’s why I try to learn as much as I can. My problem is that I doubt myself all the time, even though I know that I can do something. When I am traveling, I try to see what I can learn from any situation - good or bad. I like to learn from people and from experiences. I'd rather have more books than clothes, as I prefer to invest in things that will remove my ignorance and enrich my mind.

I try to set aside some time to read every day wherever I am. I believe that if I don’t have time to read then I don't have time to write.

IMG_20170730_233612_982.jpg

Sort:  

You are a true travel, most of the other people you call celebrity travelers that post about Atlantis hotel or their 5-star meal are tourists and there is a big difference between the two. Well done!

Hahaha @digdaga, yeah I'm not getting paid by Atlantis hotel or some resort. I wish! But no thanks, I really don't travel that way. I will probably promote my story of how I slept outside in the cold lol. I want people to learn from my own experiences, and make it possible for ordinary people like us to travel.

I just started following because you are a true traveler and hope you stay that way! We have plenty of tourist on this platform but few like you! Would also love to drink a beer with you if we cross paths, Let me know if you reach Dubai someday.

I am following you back! I will stay that way even if I earn more here in steemit, you don't have to worry about that. I'm not used to comfort and having things anyway, makes me feel guilty and conscious.

Beer would be nice!

I agree to that too. I'm more like a backpacker as well, but I have struggled with funding the trip so I always go back to home and get a job.

@diabolika It would be great if you post about how do you manage your fund and resources that support you throughout this 4 years. Cheers!

I have posted these in the past, those were just undervalued haha. But no worries, I'm gonna repost the links soon. Thanks @travelingtaka ! :)

Exactly why I follow you too!

Awww, thanks as always @abh12345 ! :)

I agree! It is difference between 5*tourist and traveler... I'm also backpacker and prefer to sleep outside luxury... But actually this is for me luxury! Those who sleeps in Atlantis hotels and eats 5-star meals are actually not exploring beauty of world and nature, but staying in comfort zone! May you travel well!
Please follow me, I'm new here @mateyav

I am not a traveler, while I do it only once a year for my annual leave and wish I can do it more. But at the same time, i can tell whats is real and what is fake, and nothing is more real than the things that attract the heart.

you're post inspires me! I have done a fair amount of traveling, but only manage to do it in small burst. When the money runs out. It's a desire to figure out having the courage to keep the adventure going for as long as possible.

May you have the courage to keep the adventure @arqetype !

I understand that the idea that money will run out gives some anxiety, but now steemit could help! ;)

I envy your just do it way of life. Into the wild was also a big inspiration in my life ;) , and I'm hoping in the future to meander where the wind might take me. Your pictures and stories of travels make me want to start today! Keep writing and traveling. Love the book in the last pic too.

May the wind take you where your heart wishes to be!

Thanks! :)

Thanks for your wonderful posts. I am on a hiatus from traveling in SE Asia for 4 years, in much the way you describe. I aim to be back on the road again within a year.

I just joined Steemit last week and have added 2 posts on two of my destinations in China.

That's cool! I'm gonna check out your posts soon. :)

Thanks for dropping by!

Such a great post! I'm really happy for you that things turned out this way.

Thank you. I'm happy too! :)

'Reports/QA Analyst for like 7 years' didn't realise that! Maybe I should be asking you about investing in steem power / bitcoin / etc😆

You didn't realize because I was asking you the most stupid things lol. You know better @xaero1 ;) with regard to crypto analysis, I'm just getting into it.

Besides, that was a long time ago, but I still keep track of my 'own data' like posts, profit, # of upvotes haha, time posted, ..with pivot table and all. and then I'll analyze!

But now it make sense a bit more, haha!
(I was a computer programmer ... but techniess is probably not that usual for a travel writer / creative writer 😄)

Believe it or not, I studied computer science lol. I just didn't take programming seriously. But I'm more into data, queries etc., ;)

Not as techie as you lol. I think you should write more too... Lots of tech topics, people are into that.

Thanks v much😄

Anyway, I think you made right choice!....I'm not going back to programming😉 (Maybe my own project' or alternately just hire someone instead!)

But Just like in your post..... even if I don't make any more from trading, I can still earn something like $400 per week on steeeeem right now by upvoting some random posts😂 (though don't know how long it will last!). So maybe enough to get by on🙃

Programming takes so much time for me, I don't know. Maybe because I'm not good at it. I like solving problems but I get consumed sometimes lol. It's like I'm just confined in my room and have no life anymore.

Also, that's why I' m studying crypto trade and maybe also invest here on steemit, then write. Then some other project about travel...

Yeah, or write. What are you doing, just write more lol. Yeah, hire someone who will do the job. So you can chill on the beach. ;)

Hah...😀

This is how life should be! True freedom! Wishing you all the best to your journey :) followed you and looking forward for more posts. Cheers from your fellow travellers

Very cool! good luck with your travels.

Thank you! :)

That book atlas shrugged was icing on the cake for me 😬😂🙌🏼

Haha. It was not easy reading that book while relaxing on the beach... lol. ;)

For many years, I tried and Ipad or even audio books... but nothing is better than a physical book ... I'm so old school :)

Call me weird but I love the smell of the old pages of a book lol.

Same here haha ... love your blogs, will be following them from now on :)

Following you too!

Interesting @diabolika. You certainly have invested in your education and growth in the world. Good for you! Look forward to more of you posts. I followed and resteemed for you.

Thank you very much @sallykwitt! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55