Dive Galapagos with Less Money and Finally Cross it off your Buckelist

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

15622489_10154858167468711_2779206598087935165_n.jpg

Before, The Galapagos was just a dream. It is any diver’s dream. I was just one those who were watching these shark documentaries, hoping that someday I would be like the late “Rob Stewart”, diving calmly with the sharks. . .

4 years ago, I was just dreaming of traveling to South America, staring at these travel pictures, reading the “Quit My Job and Travel” thread on couchsurfing, secretly planning my escape while sitting inside the office cubicle torture chamber.

4 years later, I found myself having a paid ticket to The Galapagos Islands. It will make you think of these islands as a whole new world, home to unique animals or creatures you won’t find anywhere else in the world. This is where Charles Darwin studied the birds’ species and developed his Natural Selection theory.

15941284_10154949039308711_3068482462337234355_n.jpg

It is expensive to travel to The Galapagos. The plane ticket, the accommodation, the food and the diving tour prices. They use USD as their currency there and all of Ecuador. Or perhaps it is just expensive by the backpackers or cheapskate travelers' standards. You won’t really see many budget travelers around the famous Galapagos town - Puerto Ayora, in the Sta. Cruz Island. Most are families with expensive tour packages, couples on their honeymoon or group of tourists on short holiday.

At the time I was just backpacking around South America - hitchhiking, volunteering through workaway, couchsurfing, crashing people’s houses, camping - you name it. I did it all. But I told myself that I wouldn’t leave South America without visiting The Galapagos, because I didn’t know when I would be able to come back there anymore. It would probably take a while again.

Not having a lot of money, I was thinking of ways to get there. While I was making my way through the Peruvian coast, I tried searching trip advisor for all the scuba dive shops or tourist agencies where I could probably work. I emailed them all with my resume and cover letter stating that I was traveling long-term and looking for work opportunities in The Galapagos. I also told them of my past work, volunteering experiences and my skill set.

After weeks of not getting any replies, I checked the ticket to the Galapagos. Around $500+ during the diving season from December to January, when the water is cold, the current is strong and the sharks are around.

15697483_10154887177863711_672561509619478260_n.jpg

I was already in Ecuador and just when I was already planning to cross to Colombia, one travel agency finally replied to me. They told me that they didn’t have a paid work but I could get a round-trip ticket plus accommodation for 2 months. It will be more of a volunteer work. And of course, I grabbed this amazing opportunity and dropped my other plans!

My host family has a nice big private room away from the hustle and bustle of the town and close to the best beaches of the island. They have a home-based travel agency business, organizing packages or itineraries catered to American tourists. They even connected me with their scuba dive shop partner to get a dive tour discount. To scuba dive in The Galapagos is expensive, so the discount was a huge help. I stayed for 2 months in the paradise at a minimal cost. Actually, I just spent most of my money on dive tour, boat trips and beer.

15747754_10154890650193711_5806257265230148646_n.jpg

The volunteer work was more of just helping them with admin or computer stuff like data entry, organizing itineraries and other simple tasks. Twice a week, I helped in their coffee farm by picking coffee cherries (a fun and relaxing activity!) and I got to see these giant tortoises roaming around. In the end, I found myself having nothing more to do and with more free time to explore other amazing places in The Galapagos such as the “Isabela Island”, and more time for snorkeling, scuba diving and making friends around the small town!

(excuse the f*ckin neon fins, lol)
15875068_10154917619058711_8500981929387809355_o.jpg

Though I don’t really believe in free travel, it is possible on a budget or with less money. The main important thing is courage, resourcefulness and your ability to adapt to changes. You just have to exactly identify what you really want and make a plan. Nothing is impossible, so start chasing your dreams!

IMG_20161225_155731.jpg

Sort:  

looks like an incredible place.

Yes it is, a special place I highly recommend to visit!

I wouldn't dare to go near those sharks! It's great that you have the courage to go diving there.

They look so close, but they are a bit far from you. They are harmless unless someone provokes them of course. Being surrounded with the hammerheads was such a surreal moment.

2 months in galapagos, OMG!! This is a very inspirational post. I think we are many that can relate to this "imagining, not doing"-mentality. Have you done any more travels since?

Yes, I went back to mainland Ecuador and finally to Colombia for 3 months. Then after 2 years in South America, I finally went back home.

And now I am writing about my travel. :)

Such an amazing place, well written and beautiful photos!
Galapagos is my dream travel, I am currently traveling Central America and having so much fun, but being in the Galapagos and diving is definitely my biggest dream!

Thank you, I am new here and I would like to post about my great adventure in South America. Galapagos is one! It is a special place I would definitely go back to someday. :)

I love the hammer shart picture... So fantomatic :)

It was just taken using an action cam. A bit blurry but was lucky enough to see Hammerheads!

Love your story, started blogging about travel yesterday myself as well
will keep an eye out for your next blogs. Goodluck

Thanks! Write with passion and everything will follow. ;)

Amazing place, thanks for sharing the pictures.

Thanks fo reading!

What kinds of sharks do they have there? And there's sea lions????
How cold is the temperature?

Hammerhead sharks, black, white tip and Galapagos sharks. 17-22 degrees.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62