Dealing with Reverse Culture Shock

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

14492411_10154602394518711_1859139500635778468_n.jpg

What if you no longer fit in the puzzle after coming back from a long trip or living abroad? After dealing with culture shock, now comes the hardest part, dealing with the shock of your own culture, also known as reverse culture shock. This happens when people who repatriated after a number of years overseas have to readjust to the values and culture of their home country. When the familiar becomes unfamiliar.

Long-term travelers have been bitten by this travel bug and dread the life after travel scenario. You have finally gotten out of your bubble, defied society, appreciated other cultures, welcomed changes in your life, but what if your own is something you couldn't understand anymore? After seeing all those nice travel blogs about long-term travel, most of it missed the hard part, the reality, the reason why most people prefer to stay in their comfort zone.

Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

There must be a line between getting out of the conditioning of your own culture and returning home and dealing with it again. The transition from being a traveler to being back into your old life. A lot of people wish to be location-independent and travel for a long time, due to the media hype, cheap flight costs and the over-glorification of backpacking in cheap countries these days, but what didn't they tell you?

Home is people. Not a place. If you go back there after the people are gone, then all you can see is what is not there anymore.
― Robin Hobb

However, should you really go back to your old life? This is when having a purpose comes in. If you are just wandering around without a goal in life or not searching for it, then coming back to your home without a sense of purpose would even be harder to deal with it. I don't know what kind of goal that is, whether being with friends, changing career, starting a business, or having a family. You need a strong goal that will make you go on living and not to escape life anymore, to be somewhere you can call home.

Be careful what you wish for.

After witnessing other cultures, I realized how strange my own culture is when I came back recently. It is actually not about being home, but more of the shock of how crazy and weird this culture is for most. There are some things that don't make sense to me anymore, and I just become totally out of place. I could try to join the conversation, reunite with friends and family, and I'm just going to be there. Worse, some people would even cause me not to be myself, I would be just adapting to the situation and nodding in agreement so as not to hurt their feelings. So here I am, watching their lives from a distance. It seems like I have changed big time while everyone else is still the same.

I would probably be prosecuted by my own friends who have this over-patriotic tendency, still blinded by the societal conditioning. When in fact, I am not really a fan of all countries' culture that brought all these conflicts and divides, perpetuated by the government's own propaganda. People should think for themselves, create a culture where people are more united through passion, creativity, art, self-expression and not about this us vs them anymore.

Of course, I want a perfect world, is that what you call Utopia, why not? Or at least free from stupidity, irrational decisions of those on the thrones, greed, and poverty. This might never happen in my lifetime though, but I'm really done with hardships. I'm done with my own government's shit and people's closed-mindedness. I'm old and tired of this shit. Life never gets easier for me.

The only way for me to deal with reverse culture shock is to just go through it, understand and see through people. I can't expect everyone to change overnight, actually, I can't expect them to change. It is not my business. And they might never even understand what I have just gone through. It is not as simple as asking me how was the trip? As if I can just tell it in a few sentences or in just one word. I can't make them understand this whole transformation and this fresh perspective of the world that I have now.

The only thing that holds me together right now is my own sense of purpose, why did I really come back? It has to be strong enough for me to go through all this reverse culture shock and focus all my energy on what is more important right now, that will perhaps, shape the things to come.

Home is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in.
― Robert Frost

Sort:  

@diabolika, reverse culture shock has been kicking me hard since January. That was when my family decided to stay in the States after living overseas for the majority of 12 years. We had spent up to six months at a time every 3 years back in the US, but we were always able to keep reverse culture shock at bay because we were always heading back overseas.

Living overseas was a huge blessing that I am grateful for. I am trying to be equally grateful for the blessing of living in my "home" culture (even though it does not feel like home anymore.

Everyone should spend a period of time overseas. It is life changing. It helps you understand what is important in life. It stretches you to the end of yourself. It grows you into a person who learns to value who people really are.

Thanks for sharing. As always, I appreciate your posts.

I guess we have to find some balance in between right because it helps to spend a period of time overseas, learn about other cultures in order to come back and appreciate what we have. To be grateful.

Yes, there are also many things to be grateful about at home, and I would write about it soon too.

Thanks for sharing and for your wonderful input.

@diabolika, finding the balance is the hard part. We are often like pendulums swinging back and forth. We are often at the extremes.

I agree, it is human nature to focus on the extremes.

I know it too well, thanks for speaking honestly from the heart

Thanks for dropping by.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Great Post
This post recieved an upvote & comment from funaddaa. If you would like to recieve upvotes comment from funaddaa on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @funaddaa

Amazing job @diabolika Followed...

I have experienced this... but not through travel. I was removed from my Indigenous family as a baby and raised in a non-indigenous home, removed from my language culture and family. I came home 20+ years ago to the Indian reserve and began the process of re-patriation. I now find it very hard to cope with most people who are not part of my community in Cowichan... I have next to nothing in common with such people. It's hard. So I know what it's like to go through this. I don't know what the solution is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94