You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jasper National Park: Wildlife bonanza, Day 1&2 30+ photos

in #travel6 years ago

There is so much happening here! That is terrible news about the beetles killing the trees. Hopefully a nice COLD winter will come soon and put an end to the destruction. Is the beetle native?

I love all of your pictures as always. This time around the doe, rhe marmots and the ladybug really stand out. The ladybug “selfie” 😄

The closest I have ever been to a moose was at Maligne Lake. Stupid tourists were cornering the thing and getting way too close. I was sure something bad was about to happen. Thank goodness it did not!

The tours I led in the Canadian Rockies always took us to Maligne for the boat ride. I remember getting on the boat but not what the ride was like it has been so many years! I do remember one fellow on my trip had to be taken by ambulance back to jasper for altitude sickness.

The drive up to the lake is one spot we almost always saw black bears.

Great post and pictures as always!

Sort:  

Well, winter is coming...

Yes winter is coming but the warming temperatures no longer get cold enough for the required amount of time to kill them off. They are not natural to the land. The last few years , warmer than normal winters has allowed them to move up from the United states and British-Columbia. It never used to be this bad. Seems like the infection has doubled in the last couple of years, it's starting to spread in Hinton too.

LOL yes the ladybug selfie!! I figured it would be my only chance to pull this one off!! 😋

Lucky you!! we don't see them much in Alberta, in New-Brunswick ,where I grew up, they were like a plague. Leave it to tourists to stress them out completely! I'm shocked too that nothing bad happened, they are scary when they panic. so many times on this trip I was ready to see wildlife attack somebody because they have no idea how to behave around dangerous wildlife.

Nice that you got to work on tours, I thought about it, not sure I have the patience tho, I probably have the knowledge . I did have a chance to chat a bit with some there and they are not thrilled with the wages , then again they get to stay in what I think is the most beautiful place in the world with shelter and food covered. The boat ride is pretty cool, i get into it, not in the next post but the one after. LMFAO someone had to be taken away for altitude sickness that's so funny!! It's not that high yet for that bad of sickness...these first timers or flatland hicks ! 😜 ! I have gotten altitude sickness at higher points while climbing but it's not that bad, just have to take it slower. On the boat tour I had a guy tell me to close the window because it was too cold on a 25 degree day.

That whole road is a wildlife paradise, I always see something on Maligne Lake Road, Elk hang out there quite a bit too. Now there is an eagle nest with youngs, it can't be accessed but it can be viewed from a respectable distance, I'm still looking for the damn birds tho.

Thanks for stopping by! I always enjoy reading your lovely comments 💙

Great reply! Hopefully you know that I was being optimistic that a good old-fashioned winter will bring the cold needed to bring them in check! Because the impact is huge!

#steemitagainstthebeetles(nottheband)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54