Closest thing to winter in the Philippines: Baguio City

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

If I can add more tags to this post, strawberries and perfection are no-brainers.

In a tropical country like the Philippines, sweating is as normal as breathing. The humid air can easily make you feel irritable and thirsty for an ice cold bath. That's why most Filipinos go to the nearest beach and highlands to escape the heat... and avoid annoying sweat patches.

Last December, I was fortunate enough to be given the opportunity to tour the Summer Capital of the Philippines, Baguio City for a day. Thanks to the government institution I am currently working for, my pores and sweat glands finally had the chance to rest for a couple of hours.

26937670_1820504404688701_1108842915_o.jpg

My first hours in Baguio wasn't easy since my body's still adjusting to the freezing temperature (well, for Filipinos) and I forgot to bring a sweater that could’ve saved me from all the shivers.

As shown in the photo above, Baguio is situated in probably one of the highest lands in the Philippines. Tourists are gathering here from the months of March to May just to feel the cold summer breeze touch their tender yet sun-hardened skin.

Well, it is noteworthy to mention where I had my dinner. Not really into Korean food but this place made me realize that the best of Korean culture is not just limited to pop songs and fashion. The food is so mouth-watery that I added Korea to my places-to-go-before-I-die list.

26942137_1820505648021910_893462517_o.jpg

As we entered the food place, we were greeted by the owner of the restaurant which happens to be Korean.

"Annyeonghaseyo!!!" She shouted as she smiled and gestured for us to come inside and start getting 'em awesome korean goodies!

Korean food is incomparable to traditional Filipino foods. Much more simpler and healthier, Korean cuisine will give you heaven in bite sizes. There's a lot of grilling (thin slices of meat) and chewing (plants and other vegetables) that will leave your jaw strained in euphoria. But overall, this restaurant is highly recommended to tourists who want a full korean experience. In addition, they also has a mini-wardrobe where you can borrow korean costumes and have your picture taken in their korean-inspired wallpapers.

It was indeed a long day and sleep is the only thing I long for... aside from inner peace.


Unfortunately, we had to leave in the morning because of some errands in the office. Despite the lack in time, I was able to loiter around Baguio City Market and got myself a kilogram of fresh lettuce for just 70 pesos (1.25 dollars).

26972029_1820504991355309_1107714067_o.jpg

That ends my short but worth-sharing trip in Baguio City. I highly encourage everyone to please try and visit this tourist spot! No regrets!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58656.89
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48