Why you should visit New Zealand.

in #travel7 years ago

I'm guessing most people out there have heard of New Zealand by now (Or if you haven't then definitely read this post!). And I am guessing that most people who have heard about New Zealand have heard about nature, or stunning views, the outdoors, something like that. At least from my experience living in Korea, everyone's first comment about New Zealand is 'I have heard it's so beautiful!' (otherwise it is about sheep or LOTR...... But that's unimportant).

I agree with most people about it being a stunning country (if you like nature haha) and I want to share some pictures with you all.

I hope you can agree with me! Let me know what you think :D

My first picture is from the road going towards Mount Ruapehu (which is the mountain in the background). Unfortunately it was a bit of a cloudy day, but I feel like in a way they add to the picture. And it definitely shows one of the truths about NZ.... Lots of rain... All year round.

DSC_0388.jpg

For a vastly different scene, here is a picture from one of the many beaches. Since New Zealand is an island there are beaches everywhere, and I believe there is some fact like 'no place in New Zealand is further than 4 hours from the sea' or similar (maybe not exactly 4 hours). This particular photo was taken at Tongaporutu beach, Taranaki.

DSC_0797.jpg

A second image from Tongaporutu beach. In the distance you can see the remnants of old rocks which have slowly washed away with time. I wonder how many more years they will stand for!

DSC_0810.jpg

Next is an image from my home city (New Plymouth). New Plymouth is know for its coastal walkway which covers the entire length of the city and is always being expanded. This photo was taken from the walkway (behind me in the image) and you can see how the coast curves around (and the walkway is right on that coast the whole way!). It's an easy way to get around the city and a very scenic walk along the coast. I love the different colours in the ocean... So amazing! And so varied.

DSC_0137.jpg

Mount Taranaki, the local mountain where I live. Barely 30 minutes from the city (and the coast) is this mountain. It is great for walks in both the summer and winter, camping at the provided huts, and even swimming sometimes! It also has skifields for winter.

DSC_0649.jpg

This is another shot of the mountain taken from a riverbed of a stream on the mountain. I tried swimming in it (where it was deeper!) it was..... Freezing. I guess mountain water is cold even in summer!

DSC_0684.jpg

My final picture from Mount Taranaki. Of a bridge crossing the river bed.

DSC_0783.jpg

This photo was taken about 4 hours away on Mount Ruapehu (the mountain from the first image). This was taken from the path leading to a famous waterfall (in the next image), and it is one of my favourite places. I love swamps and swampland.

DSC_0001.jpg

My second to last image for this post is from the waterfall at the end of the track. It was a bit of a walk, but definitely worth it for the amazing view at the end.

DSC_0050.jpg

This final image is more of a typical New Zealand landscape, and what you will see a lot of in New Zealand. In this picture you can see farmland on the left and right with a snaking river down below. Unfortunately there is a lot of farmland in New Zealand which has ruined the nature to a degree, however, there are still amazing places to visit and see!

DSC_0402.jpg

And that concludes this post! I hope I have convinced a few of you to visit New Zealand for yourself, or if not, that you at least enjoyed reading and viewing my post. If you want to see more images of... Well anything really, New Zealand, Seoul, or other, please check out my profile!

Thanks a lot for reading :D Have a great day and stay safe!

Sort:  

Why thank you! It really is :)

And most likely one of the few safe places in a nuclear war.

Haha, that is very true! We are pretty out of the way for most.

Beautiful. I would love to visit New Zealand one day.

I hope you get to visit one day!

Congratulations @devi1714! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61