The Cutest Place You Will Ever Visit! Hongdae Meerkat Cafe.

in #travel7 years ago

Another one of my recent journeys was to a place I have heard about a few times, but never got around to visiting... A Meerkat cafe! What? A meercat cafe?! Yes, you heard me right.

This cafe is famous for (obviously) the meerkats. But meerkats aren't the only attraction, with a whole variety of animals living there. An arctic fox, silver fox, wallaby and some more normal domestic cats all call Hongdae their home. Each and every one of these animals can be interacted with (if the animals want to interact with you), and it is an amazing experience.

While I have played with and fed meerkats before, being able to interact with these amazing and rare foxes was a completely new experience for me. But a picture is worth a thousand words after all! So let me explain with pictures!

DSC_0385.jpg

Meerkats, the little packets of fun that they are! While many of the animals at other cafes are rather over interaction with humans, the meerkats seem to love it and embrace it. The meerkats aren't free roaming, and they do have enclosures in the centre of the cafe, which you can enter for certain periods of time to interact with them.

The meerkats will run all over you and inspect every little nook and crevice they can find on your body (they love pockets!). If you get the chance to visit, I would definitely say to wear some complicated clothing (lots of pockets). But do be prepared! They will inspect every inch of you, including possibly your face (although you can get them removed if they are bothering you).

DSC_0427.jpg

This meerkat found the strings on the blankets we were using! It was really hard to take pictures of the meerkats from such angles and I had no idea at all what I was taking a picture of.. Glad some turned out okay!

DSC_0525.jpg

Standing guard! There are two groups of meerkats at the cafe, one of about 5 members, and the other is around 8-10. They are both very active and curious, and both with give you a great experience! This particular meerkat was sitting standing guard as the others played and 'inspected' us.

DSC_0505.jpg

This is my favourite image of the day! This was another meerkat (or maybe the same one..?) from the smaller pack. There are many windows in the cafe, and I guess this meerkat was looking out for birds or other possible predators. I love the image with the reflection... So cute!

But I mentioned other animals... What about them?!

DSC_0504.jpg

The cafe is also home to a variety of other animals, one of which is this (wild cat?). I am actually not sure what type of animal it is! But it was very cute and it preferred to spend its time in the shadows. In this particular image one of the cats is watching it play with a toy! I love this picture and how it shows the different animals living with each other in harmony.

DSC_0469.jpg

The next amazing and curious member of this cafe is the wallaby! I have seen wallabies at zoos and in the wild, but nothing so far has come close to this encounter. The animal was so friendly, and each person was able to feed it a little piece of food. It's so cool to have a cafe where you can sit down, enjoy your drink, and watch foxes and wallabies run/jump past (not to mention the cats!).

DSC_0561.jpg

The final animals of the cafe (or so I think...? Maybe there are more!!) are the two foxes. This particular one is an arctic fox, but there is also a younger silver fox that lives in the cafe. The foxes aren't very friendly (and understandably so), but when the food comes out, so do they! Everyone gets a chance to feed the foxes and watch them run around the cafe. They always keep you on your toes!

DSC_0520.jpg

The Hongdae Meerkat cafe was an amazing place to visit and spend an afternoon. Cat cafes are cool, dog cafes are cool, meerkat/fox/wallaby/cat cafes are... Amazing and unique. If you are in Seoul and want to spend some time with animals, I can't recommend this enough!

Thanks for reading this far and I hope you enjoyed my post! Feedback and comments are always welcome!

If you would like to see some more of my work, please feel free to visit me at https://www.facebook.com/SeoulinspiredPhotography/ (Steemit is my blogging platform, I put photos here!).

Steemit Banner.jpg

Steemit#2.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post. Very informative and useful to the reader. Good work and good content. Will continue to follow. Enjoyed your post.

@devi1714

Thanks a lot :) It means a lot! I hope to bring more good content in the future!

You did a great job being thorough and informative! I love all of the pictures and I'm sure some of them were really difficult to get. I'm a little bit concerned with the concept of this kind of cafe, but I totally understand its appeal and you really did a wonderful job explaining your experience.

Thank you very much for the kind words. Yeah, I can understand the concern. Many of these animals aren't supposed to live in environments like this (I am guessing this is your concern) and constant human interaction can be harmful for them. After experiencing the cafe though I think that although it is nothing compared to their native homes, that they are treated well and cared for as best as they can be. I think that these cafes are much better to the animals than zoos, but obviously neither option is great.

Cute little buggers. 👍😊

They really are! I think they lose a bit of their appeal when you realise their rather aggressive and seemingly destructive personalities though :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61