You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 things I don't buy anymore as a minimalist traveller | what I stopped buying

in #travel7 years ago

Hell ya. I didn't always think like that, but I've been living semi minimalist for awhile now(11years) even though I am not a traveling nomad. I think it's just kinda my natural mindset. I just never understood why people spent so much money on crap they don't need. And the stuff I do buy I get the full use out of it, I use it until its dead. This laptop I'm typing on is the only one I've ever bought and its over 10 years old and still working good for me. My clothes look old and worn out, but until they get to many holes I'll keep wearing 'em, and once they got holes I can still rip them into pieces and use them as rags. I crossed paths with and old friend recently and he remarked "are you going for the bum look" I thought that shit was pretty funny. At the same time a lot of people I know always ask me how I can afford to spend so much time hiking and backpacking and gold prospecting? And its because I don't need to spend my money on all that crap that most people are impulse buying. I grow lots of food here at my place, so that helps too. Really enjoyed the video, I followed you here on steem and subscribed to your youtube channel.

Sort:  

"Are you going for the bum look" yes, yes I am! :D Thanks for your comment. People ask me the same, how can I afford to travel or do this or that, and I explain to them over and over that I simply don't buy things I don't need. I think about every purchase instead of going out shopping just because I'm bored. It all comes down to priorities. Thanks for following and subscribing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60901.71
ETH 3380.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55