Holidays are coming 😍

in #travel6 years ago

holidays are coming.jpg

Here in Vietnam, celebrations will soon begin to welcome the new year.

The Vietnamese lunar new year, more commonly known as Tet happens around January and February each year. It's a bit like Christmas back home, families come together and take holidays from work.

Large cities like Saigon and Hanoi change overnight, with many of the people leaving to visit their hometowns.

My Vietnamese friends are always curious what I will do. My first experience of Tet was three years ago. My hosts were so welcoming, even more than usual! I enjoyed traditional foods, rice wine, beer and even Scotch! And of course many laughs!!!

I've been lucky enough to be invited to a few places over Tet. However, It's the first time since August that I've had a few weeks of from teaching.

Before I started teaching, I was in a fortunate position that I could just do what I wanted when I wanted. That changed when I began to work as a Teacher.

So where to go?


Here are my options/thoughts at the moment. I've narrowed it down to this list.

  • Motorbike around the Mekong Delta, South Vietnam.
  • Motorbike around the southern Highlands of Vietnam.
  • Motorbike around the northern mountains of Sapa and Ha Giang.
  • Fly to Thailand and have an adventure.
  • Crossover to Cambodia, go to Angkor Wat again and visit some of the places I've visited on previous trips to Cambodia.
  • Bus to Laos, then hire a bike and explore



So, I've just over a week to decide! Not too long!

Staying in Vietnam is my preference as I've not had a real motorbike journey for three years when I drove from Ha Long to Saigon.

Anyways, just sharing some thoughts, feel free to comment if you have any suggestions 😁

Keep it real
Derek

If you like my posts,
Please consider upvoting and commenting.
I always reply and upvote comments that upvote the post!

This is what Steemit is about and the way our community grows. Thanks for the continued support.

Sort:  

If you go to Laos, the Thakek loop is the best place to ride. The loop is only 3 or 4 days, but it was the best riding that I encountered in that country. The Bolaven Plateau out of Pakse is ok (and is a longer loop), but Thakek was more enjoyable, in my experience.

Thakek sounds good! I'm definitely going to the Mekong, then over to Cambodia, for the first week. Now that you've thrown Thakek in the mix, I'm considering Laos haha!

If you go north. QT bikes in Ha giang is awesome. Big selection of bikes and road service if you break down. Also they can help you plan a route if you need that. All around good guys.

Awesome cheers mate! Great info, will likely do this if I can get flights at a reasonable rate!

We would say either motorbike it around Sapa and the north of Vietnam or head into Laos (a new country for you). It depends if you want to see and feel the celebrations of Tet or not. If only there was a voting application on these posts...maybe in the future.

Sapa and the North is my preference, it's just getting my bike there. I may need to just hire one. It's also 3-5 times more expensive to fly in the holidays here. I've been to Laos, but a very quick trip that ended badly. So still need to go back!

Aha vote app would be good for sure! Thanks :)

Oh yea you have to get your bike up there....a bit of a trek from Saigon!
A chance for Laos to redeem itself? Otherwise, our third option Southern Highlands. Looking forward to hear what you will decide. 😊

Have you considered flying to Philippines or Indonesia? Pretty amazzing there. I did some motorbike road trips over there and i absolutely loved it, much more than thailand for example (sorry my thai friends, too many visitors in your country hehe)

Hello @thepassenger, I did consider both them. I've been to the south of the Philippines​ it was amazing. I've never been to Indonesia, I want to spend more than a few weeks when I go there. I only have 2 weeks. I know what you mean about Thailand ;) Thanks for the upvote comment and follow, appreciated :)

Motorcycle FTW! :D

For SURE 😆

Thank you for information. After we traveled Thailand and Cambodia we decide to visit Vietnam. This information for sure will taken for our trip.

I'm glad you found it useful :) I'm sure you will love Vietnam.

wish you have a nice trip bro :)

Wow! That sounds like an amazing opportunity to go and do something new. I don't know what to suggest as it's not somewhere I've ever been, but rest assured it'll probably beat a chilly February in the North of England.

Not jealous at all, honest. ;-)

Yeah, I'm excited to get going :) only a week to wait. I hear you about the chilly weather, can't say I miss the cold of Scotland haha

I really miss Vietnam =/

How long have you been in Australia?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47