When You Travel Across the World... Help People & Make Friends

in #travel7 years ago

Some vacations are relaxing; this one was exhilarating!

20170805_103454-1.jpg

My husband @joechiappetta & I,

20170805_110459-1.jpg

along with our kids, recently traveled to the Philippines, where we spent some of our time serving children at a school in an underpriveleged region.

20170805_121625-1.jpg

As volunteers with MERCYWORLDWIDE, we fed them, played games, danced, donated much needed school supplies, and got to know them.

20170805_110136-1.jpg

The people greeted us in an amazing way! As our jeepneys pulled into the town,

20170805_121049.jpg

they lined the streets smiling, shouting "mabuhay!" and "welcome!" They even gave some of us necklaces!

20170809_070444-1.jpg

My son @lukechiappetta was especially popular, as many of the teen girls screamed when they saw him and ran up to him to take pictures, saying that he looked like Justin Bieber!

20170805_121704.jpg

Joe utilized his incredible artistic talents by drawing portraits of the children for them to keep. He really worked hard! He made so many that I'll probably have to dedicate a whole different post to showing them to you!

20170805_121803.jpg

It isn't cheap to take your family across the world. But it was so worth every penny spent! The life experience, lessons in gratefulness, and memories of the warmth of the Filipino people will continue to pay dividends in my life and the lives of my children for years to come!

20170805_120142-1.jpg

I hope you've been inspired by seeing a little snippet of our "working vacation" and that perhaps it will inspire you to take one of your own! There is so much good yet to be done in our world. Be a part of it :)

20170805_102827-1.jpg

Sort:  

I love this! Lol @ the teen girls, it has begun. XD
I'm glad your family had tons of fun! Serving is great for the heart!

Yes it is! Hugs! :)

I always appreciate how you can turn slice-of-life events into poetic epics. Great serving with you! And your coverage of what we did next is well said: https://steemit.com/travel/@denisechips/using-artistic-talent-to-encourage

This post has been upvoted by the @teamphilippines curation trail.

Thank you for supporting our TeamPhilippines Movement by upvoting, resteeming, delegating, or donating to this account to allow us to support our growing team more and more each day!

This post has also been selected to be featured in the #TeamPhilippines Daily issue for today. Congratulations!

Awesome! Thanks so much!

looks like an idea vacation.. It is hard to truely relax unless we feel content with who we are, and what a better way to do that than to be of service :)

Very well said, you are quite right! Thank you!

Nice post
I like the way you describe and come so clear to me,
Sometimes We need to travel and see around us if there is something different from our hometown for our knowledge and to relax our mind in order to come with fresh and full of Spirit to begin the following day with.

Thank you! Yes, I agree :)

Ur wlcome my friend
Thanks for upvoting

Congratulations @denisechips! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

My metaphorical hats off to you and your family! Your kid(s) are lucky to have you and your hubby as their parents. :)

Aw, thanks so much! We try to do good while also having fun as a family. Btw, I love your name "chuckler." Following you now, for some chuckles 😉

Unfortunately I'm the one who chuckles instead of me making others laugh lol thanks anyways! :D

kumusta denisechips! :) lovely post. wonderful pics of many wonderful people. thanks for sharing. im following u and upvoting now.

Thank you! Im following you as well now. From your recent posts, I see that we were just in the same area. I was in Makati recently as well. All the best to you! Look forward to seeing more of your posts :)

Such a heart warming post :)

Would love to meet with you! Perhaps, we can help with some of the stuff you do while helping steemit growth in the Philippines as well as that also helps with empowering leaders. Don't mind conversing, if you have time. Just tell me and i will provide you url where we can chat. You can also find this link underneath my posts!

Thank you so much! Sure, I would love to chat. I'm about to go to a meeting now, but some time tomorrow would be good. Where do we chat?

https://discord.gg/feucZRj. Then you can dm me. I have the same username! It is a place filled with other steemians; where we chat. Similar to steemit.chat but it also has voice calls etc I am in Manila as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51