Summer Love

in #travel7 years ago

Growing up in the midwestern United States, I quickly learned to appreciate summer for all it's beauty, freedom and breath. Spring is nice too, but it seems to start with so much rain and then it's over so fast. And I know many people like Autumn, but I just hate watching things die all around me. And winter... Well, it's just too cold!

20170715_111109.jpg

Now, living in Southern California, every day is "Summer." My native SoCal friends may take issue with that. Though I am finding that there aren't really that many "native" So Cal people anyway. I can't help but chuckle at the store advertising signs that read "It's Boot Season!" in December, when I don't even need a jacket. I guess so many things are relative. After many winters of wading through multiple feet of snow in below-zero wind chill, I find it all amusing.

So, today I am celebrating my "endless summer" here in SoCal, for as long as I may enjoy it. Perhaps life will bring me back to the snow one day. Or maybe not. But for now, I'm heading on out to the pool. See you later!

20170710_160343_Burst01.jpg

Sort:  

I always appreciate your slice-of-life commentary on the journey.

Wow nice place. Have a nice day! @denisechips

Thanks! Best to you as well @bankhai!

Nice! Autumn is still my favorite season because the weather is comfortable.

Congratulations @denisechips! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I as well love California for so many things and also the climate, although I once in the mid 90ies stood on the balcony of my motel room in San Diego singing "It never rains in Southern California" amidst a heavy rain shower. 😉

Haha! Yes, the people here tend to stop everything and rejoice when it rains.

I believe that! Free refreshing shower for everybody! :)

Nice post. Checkout my post 8 reasons why I'm not texting you back. @ivylifestyle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61