2,333 meters above sea level.

in #travel6 years ago

https://www.instagram.com/p/BfzD5hulm0C/?hl=en

They kept telling me my car was shitty and it was falling apart. Well, It is an economy class, 4 door, 4 cylinder, sedan, yes. But it is a Lancer. And if you know anything about cars and battle, you know that without scars, you can't call yourself a lancer. It comes with the territory.

Speaking of territory. The day this photo was taken, this lancer went from Jaltemba Bay to Nuevo Vallarta (as it does everyday, sometimes twice a day) through rough surface jungle highways. Then it went up the mountains, on a sketch as fuck, old, treacherous, broken up highway that is known as the "Old Guadalajara-Vallarta" road. 

This road though, was like a dream come true for me. Canyon drops, bends, twists, hazards, broken asphalt, dirt road detours due to road repair, changing scenery from jungle, to forest, to mountains, to farm land. It eventually takes you to a gorgeous town called Mascota Jalisco, where you would be forgiven if you managed to fall asleep riding shotgun then woke up and mistook it for a town in the Euro Alps.

Another 300 or so more awesome kilometers, it reached Glorious Guadalajara Jalisco Mexico. Where it only asked for half a tank of premium 92 octane Pemex go juice. Yours truly stopped for Tacos Al Pastor. Then headed out of the city, went up the hills chopping heavy semi trucks through Plan De Barranca, got oout through the new stretch of highway on Jala-Compostela where the little engine that could (4b11), did, reach 165kms/hr or 100 miles per hour on a full moon lit beautifully lonely Mexican highway night as I returned to the beautiful Jaltemba Bay where I live. 

According to google maps, if I remember correctly, with all the city driving, my trip was about 1000 kms in one day.

Yeah it's not gonna win awards. But it won my soul. Sure, I have repaired it since then. But all vehicles need repairs. Especially vehicles that read over 140,000 kms on their dash. The difference is, that my repairs are normal items. Where as other vehicles, pretty much need a new engine or transmission at this stage.

Because of this trip, The danger, The challenge, The full moon, The 100 mile per hour grin on my face, The vibe gave me the balls to finally purchase extra batteries, dual charger,  and SD cards for my GoPro camera so I can stop complaining and start doing. So I have been recording an insane amount of footage of my Jungle highway adventures.  Once edited, I would love to share it with you sexy steemers.

Sort:  

Congratulations @deliciousdangr! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57