The Sun Voyager or Sólfar in Icelandic.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

During my recent visit to Reykjavik, Iceland, I visited the famous Sun Voyager Sculpture made by the artist, Jón Gunnar Árnason. It is made from stainless steel.

This sculpture is larger than I had imagined. To show you the size, see below, and I am 5 feet 11 inches tall.
DSC_963.jpg
The above photo is taken from Nikon D5100 on April 2, 2018

Well it was a snowy day and the visibility was poor. Otherwise, the view would have been spectacular and the mountains behind it would have been visible. Well, after sometime the visibility improved and I could see the view below, which would have been the backdrop of my previous photo as well. But there is always a next time.
DSC_000.jpg
The above photo is taken from Nikon D5100 on April 2, 2018

The Sun Voyager is an ode to the sun. It was built as a promise of an undiscovered territory, progress, freedom and a dream of hope. It is also often described as a dreamboat.
I could definitely understand the promise of an undiscovered territory, progress, freedom and a dream of hope. Iceland is very different from the rest of the world that I have travelled to uptil now. It simply seems out of this world.
I will write more about my experiences in Iceland in future blogs.
Till then enjoy your day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58