Iceland travel story : Now you see me, Now you dont : Seljalandsfoss waterfall

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

During my recent visit to Iceland, while driving along the Ring road, I encountered many waterfalls. Each and every one of these is unique and beautiful.

While driving along, I saw many single houses, far away from city. My first thought was how do they live? Dont they have to drive a long way for supplies and such?
A lot of such individual houses are self-sustained and many have waterfalls also in their private property, generating power and a source of water for the house. You can only watch these waterfalls from far away. To go near the waterfall, you have to get the permission of the owners.

Nevertheless, here I will illustrate about a waterfall which is a tourist hotspot, Seljalandsfoss waterfall. A legend states that long time ago, a viking had hidden treasure behind this waterfall.

Well was the treasure found? It is not known. But I would sure like to get my hands on that treasure!!

Sounds interesting!? What makes this waterfall unique is, that you can walk around and get to behind of this waterfall, and stay hidden (but extremely wet).

Seljalandsfoss waterfall from the front: Looks like a normal waterfall, doesnt it!

DSC_107.jpg

On closer look, the path which leads to behind the waterfall is more noticeable.

DSC_112.jpg

SURPRISE!! Now I am behind the waterfall!

DSC_116.jpg

There are two more waterfalls next to it.

One had two fountains coming out of it, water being frozen in snow bank.

DSC_120.jpg

It was fun playing in the waterfall fountain!!

The other waterfall was calm and beautiful too!

DSC_124.jpg

These waterfalls were highlight of that moment for me, well everything in Iceland was.

Please share your thoughts as comments if you liked this post.

Upvote, Comment, Resteem, Follow.

Smiley-thinking of you4.png

Untitled-1.jpg

All rights reserved. All images have been taken by me with my Nikon D5100 and Action camera.

Sort:  

Very interesting post. Sounds like fun. I will also plan to go there. Thanks for sharing my friend. :)

Thanks my friend :) It was very much fun. You should also definitely go.

Yes in planning mode now. :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deepeshgarg
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=iceland-travel-story-now-you-see-me-now-you-dont-seljalandsfoss-waterfall


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57087.02
ETH 3064.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19