Travel Blog #2: Surfin' it up at San Juan, La Union (Philippines)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

San Juan, particularly its Surf Camp, is one of the top surfing spots in the Philippines. Perhaps in the island of Luzon, it is only rivaled by Baler as the most preferred beach for beach bummin' surfers. But it is also popular for beach-goers and vacationers who want to escape from their busy schedule and take some time off, since it is located near Manila. It is also very near to La Union's capital, San Fernando City. Though there are similar beach fronts in other towns, San Juan is more well known probably because of this guy. He popularized surfing (together with his dad) and still teaches, but nowadays only celebrities seem to get his time. But seriously, San Juan is known for its competitive price and competent surfing instructors for anyone who want learn or to further hone their wave-riding skills. Me and my travel buddies stayed at San Juan Surf Resort.

We arrived there just as the dawn was breaking:
DSC_2652 (2).JPG

As a testament for the place being a surfing haven, they even have this surf board barangay marker (it's pretty sturdy):
DSC_2646 (2).JPG

There are two parts of the beach front itself, the one with the rocky shore, as posted above, and the other one, of course, is the sandy one. Check out this view:DSC_2703 (2).JPG

The resort also has some sort of a view deck where you can just lay around if you're aren't up to soaking in the beach or doesn't want to walk in the sand yet:
DSC_2696 (2).JPG

And when you're finally feelin' it, SURF'S UP baby!
DSC_2663 (2).JPG

Where's your surfing spot? Favorite beach? Vacation spot? Reply below and let me know. 'Til next time!
-Dean :D

Sort:  

My town! I'll see you sometime!!! That surf Kiosk right there looks familiar :D That must be my friend's :D I was there yesterday hehe

Ohhh. I'll let you know the next time I drop by. :D

Hmm. To be honest I don't know how to surf and don't like to swim at the beach. I love falls, spring, and river. You're so talented. I will go to the Puting Bato next week. It isone of the highest mountains in Caraga region with falls and spring.

I'm more of a trekking person myself, I'm more for mountains and falls. But for some reason, I like surfing even though I'm not into swimming in the sea. Haha. I'd like to go Puting Bato too. Happy trekking/canyoneering! :)

Went to San Juan but sadly there are no waves at that time. Just did some skimboarding.

That's also our experience. The waves usually start to build up just before noon until late in the afternoon. But usually by 4pm onwards they don't allow beginners to do surfing as the waves become to rough and big. Skimboarding and swimming along the shore is allowed almost all the time. But there are times when even swimming is not allowed, usually during early morning as the receding tides try to normalize. I find their warning system useful. 😇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62516.71
ETH 2436.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65