You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I've learned from my trip to Cuba.

in #travel7 years ago

This literally brought tears to my eyes! I was born in a city called Cienfuegos, Cuba and I haven't been back since I was 7 years old and I'm 26 now. Fortunately all of my family lives in the USA now, but my husband's father still lives there and it's a very hard life. The reality of it is if you don't have any family outside of Cuba you will be really poor and will have to come up with creative ways to make money. My father-in-law lives very well in Cuba because his 3 sons are in the USA, but even so it's difficult for him. Even though my family is in the USA, we still have friends that we have left behind and it's truly sad even if we try to help as much as we can. We wish to go back one day, but we are not considered Americans (even when we are American citizens) to the Cuban government, so we would have to renovate our Cuban passports which cost a lot of money and can't be used everywhere. It's really unfair, but thats the reality. Anyways, I'm sorry for the long comment, but I'm truly glad you showed the real Cuba and not just the touristy side. I wish more people could see that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33