I am speaking at Anarchapulco and Envision Fest!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey friends! This Wednesday I am leaving Houston and getting back on the road for some exciting events! Let me take a few minutes to tell you about my plans…

On Wednesday, my partner and I will be flying from Houston to Mexico City where we will spend 4 days. We traveled through Mexico last year for 2 weeks and had an amazing time. One of our stops was to the Pyramid of the Sun and Moon in Teotihuacan. We had a great time, but, because I like to read every sign and placard, we didn’t get to fully explore the massive city. In fact, we almost missed our opportunity to see the Pyramid of the Sun entirely. When security announced they would be closing in ten minutes we looked at each other and immediately began running to the pyramid. We ran all the way to the top in under ten minutes. Once we caught our breath we took a few moments to meditate and soak in the beauty.

This year we plan to make at least one more trip the pyramids so we can have more time to explore. After we leave Mexico City we are flying to Zihuatanejo, my other favorite city in Mexico (so far). Zihua is a famous beach town and definitely has a prominent tourist crowd year-round, but there are plenty of opportunities to get away from the crowd and experience Zihua as a local. We will be spending a few quiet days in Zihua. The beach, a beautiful woman, freedom. What else could I ask for?

After we leave Zihua we are heading to Acapulco for the Anarchapulco conference! This will be my second year attending and speaking at Anarchapulco. The website describes the event as follows:

“Celebrate freedom at the world’s premier conference for voluntaryist thinkers and activists. Held annually in beautiful Acapulco, Mexico, we bring together hundreds of principled anarchists to share ideas on how to live free and build a better world. Our unparalleled line up of speakers will discuss entrepreneurship, investments, politics, philosophy, health, sustainability, lifestyles and personal relationships for four days among the sun and beaches of a world-class resort.”

I was honestly thoroughly surprised last year by the amount of conscious, holistic messaging. Sure, there were the standard anarchist discussions on economics and the State, but there were also panels on veganism, conscious communication, peaceful parenting, diet, meditation, etc. It was very refreshing. Not to mention that this year’s lineup is filled with many people that I consider to be inspirations and friends. So many good friends and family will be there!

Last year I gave a talk called Agorism & Holistic Anarchism: A New Path to a Stateless Society. This year my talk is called “Why Are All the Anarchists So Fucked Up?”. I plan to be very open about my flaws as well address the danger of the follower/leader, false idol mentality prevalent in the freedom movement. This will also be my first major discussion of my new book, The Holistic Self-Assessment.

After things wrap up at Anarchapulco I will be flying to San Jose, Costa Rica and then making my way to Uvita, CR for my first visit and talk at Envision Festival. The website describes Envision as “a 4-Day festival perfectly nestled where the Pacific Ocean meets the wild jungle of Costa Rica. As a celebration dedicated to awakening our human potential, Envision Festival provides a platform for different cultures to co-exist in conscious community.” Sounds like my kind of party. Seriously, check out this video from last year:

Envision works to operate with a focus on “8 Pillars”. The pillars of Envision are Music, Movement, Art, Bio-Construction, Health, Community, Permaculture, and Spirituality. In addition, “Envision provides a platform for different cultures to collide harmoniously in regenerative community and inspire one another through the collective participation in art, spirituality, yoga, music, dance, performance, education, regenerative strategies and our fundamental connection with nature.”

One of my favorite parts of Envision is it is all about the permaculture and spiritual elements that I (and many others) have worked to infuse with the Anarchist/Voluntaryist/Agorist movement. When @johnvibes and I first wrote “Reflections on Anarchy and Spirituality” our goal was to bridge the gap between the spiritual crowd and the anarchist crowd. To me, Anarchapulco and Envision represent the merging of these philosophies and I am happy to serve as a bridge between worlds. I am sure there will be some at Envision who are more “left-leaning”, potentially Bernie Sanders or Hillary supporters, who may have not yet heard of what Anarchism is really about, and I know for a fact, they have not heard of Holistic Activism or Anarchism.

I am totally stoked about these opportunities. Once I wrap all that up, my partner will be flying home and I will be spending at least a week alone in the rainforest. I have been feeling compelled to spend time alone and I think this is the perfect opportunity for me. I am so looking forward to the growth that will come as a result of solitude.

Hope to see some of you at Anarchapulco and/or Envision! See you in March Steemit!



db

I am an investigative journalist and liberty activist; a Lead Investigative Reporter for ActivistPost.com and the founder of the TheConsciousResistance.com & The Houston Free Thinkers. I have also co-authored three books with @johnvibes: The Conscious Resistance: Reflections on Anarchy and Spirituality and Finding Freedom in an Age of Confusion, Vol. 1 and Finding Freedom in an Age of Confusion, Vol. 2

Donate via:

  • Bitcoin: 16fDdrZvt9XUv7TyboSYtaHfcxMb22Yiew
  • Ethereum: 0x8d20b442de44C28467b3d66939ff3077F9CfCb24
  • DASH: XbPpwz1ZvtkTeik1y3wDgrHRJTEst564XH

I am always available for interviews, Please contact [email protected]

I greatly appreciate any support here or on my other social media:

Sort:  

Interesting topics. Would love to hear the talk. Please do post the video of the talk hear on Steemit.
Wishing you all the best.

That's sounds like just about the best itinerary I have ever heard.

Its like a good post and i rellay apprishiyet to your post i like it

will you be posting video to dtube?

yep!

Honestly there's no way to quantify how important your talks and presence at Envision were to my experience. I fell in that in-between-group who are into more conscious ways of living but may not be taking them to the full extent possible. With food, I feel like I got my bases covered, not giving a $1 to those I don't trust, but the other areas certainly have room for improvement and you've helped to light the path towards a life where my actions truly align with my values.

Getting to hang out with you around the festival really drove home the point of how once people find their passion and take steps towards it, they can make amazing things happen. The festival, stages and grounds were immaculate but when it comes down to it, whether it's a headliners playing the main stage, an insightful presenter at a workshop or a guy from the midwest in the crowd on his own, we're all just normal people, some just take their passions and run with them which create new dynamics in life.

Thank you for sharing everything you did over the weekend, from information at talks, to time in the evening getting more in depth with things. I hope we cross paths again my friend. I smile each time I get a text from you about a new article and now that I've got my steemit page up and running it will be easier to keep in touch and watch as we both flourish. The truth always prevails and I think we can feed each others inspiration to create the world we believe we should have have for ourselves and others.

With Love,
Joe Zich

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74