i ♥ Travel - The City of Gentle People

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

We are each other's harvest; we are each other's business; we are each other's magnitude and bond― Gwendolyn Brooks

Hello Steemit Fretz!

Welcome to my Travel Blog Series! This is a collection of my travels & adventure photos and stories that I have kept throughout the years. Some are old school and some are current but they are wonderful memories nonetheless.

Dumaguete, the City of Gentle People

It’s a given that my fellow Filipinos are gentle and friendly but did you know that there is a city that is far gentler and friendlier in my country? It’s the City of Dumaguete! People living in this city are very warm-hearted, soft-spoken and hospitable. They are very welcoming to not just foreign visitors but locals as well.

History

source

Dumaguete is considered as one of the largest city and it is the capital city of Negros Oriental.

The city got its name because of the Visayan term, “daggit,” which means to “snatch,” or to “grab.” This city was a frequent victims of raids and harassing pirates back in the day.

As decades gone by, “dagit” is still a popular connotation of the gentle city. But this term is no longer affiliated to the pirates harassing this city, rather the city has snatched the hearts of tourists because of its beauty and lovely people.

This place was initially called “Danaguet" by a Spanish Historian, Diego Lopez. Then it was changed into “Dumaguete” by Murillo Velarde, a cartographer.

Sandurot Festival

Source

Like any other place in the Philippines, Dumaguete has also their own celebration. “Sandurot” means sharing and unity.

During November you can see people dancing on the streets, representing different barangays and showing their interpretation of what festival’s true meaning.

The Sandurot Festival is the pleasurable celebration of that city’s people. The people’s innate friendliness, hospitality and their openness to live peacefully with other people that are of different culture and race, which is what this festival is all about.

Dumagueteñoes welcome tourists with open arms while maintaining the cities peace, which is the city’s charm.

The Home of Silliman University

source

Because of the city’s peaceful way of living, it is a great place for learning pursuits. It has become a must-go-to place to study and this is why scholars, artists and students come here, not just from my country but from around the world.

Silliman University is situated in the center of Dumaguete is one of the oldest U.S.-based school in Asia. This was built and created by Protestant missionaries from the U.S. in 1901. This is a 62-hectar ground, with over 300 acacia trees that adds beauty to this university.

The University is also very active for its developmental work and has come in touch with growing partnerships around the world. This is why the school has around 300+ foreign students coming from 40 different countries.

I’ll be sharing more of Dumaguete soon! See you around my fretz!

SteemLogoANIMATION@dawnsheree.gif

Image Source:

Thumbnail Photo from Sastra Ingris

 


 

Sort:  

Looks great, I'd love to go some day! Interesting to hear some of the history too. Thanks for the post!

You're welcome Adam. I'm glad you like it.

I fell in love with the Philippines on my first trip. Been there 3 times unfortunately for me, only within the Manila area. If we end up traveling that side of the world again, I would put this as a must see place. Thanks for sharing such an awesome place. :D

You must come and explore there more to my country than meets the eye. ^^ what did you do innñ Manila?

Mostly shop. Especially the green hills area. We love the prices of stuff and the hustle and bustle.

Yes, shopping is cheap and fun when in the Philipines. Glad you had fun!

Waaaait, wait, wait. Dumagueteñoes. Why does the demonym have an ñ? Hahaha, I didn't know Filipinos had taken so much from Spanish. I should learn some Tagalog to see how much comes from Spanish.

300 acacia trees

Seems really beautiful. :) The picture of the walk-way to the entrance of Silliman University is awesome. I love your take on Dumaguete.

Spanish Colonization was more or less 370 years, so it's not surprising that majority of the places, events and cultures are of spanish influence. ^^ I speak Tagalog but it's not may native language. I speak Bisaya. ^^

It's amazing that we have over 170 languages would you believe that and I only know two of them. ^^

I would probably speak so many of them if I had been born there! I speak 4 and we only have 1 in Venezuela. I'm always trying to learn new languages. Even subconsciously. They just appeal to me.

And it's quite interesting. I didn't know you guys had also had Spanish colonization there. I'll have to read up on that later. If you remind me of it I'll be happy. :) I'll be going to sleep now. Goodnight!

hahaha I have so many things to remind too as well. So many plans to read and watch. I have to take note of it so I won't miss anything. Good night Sharon!

I only speak english guys. I'm lame.

Lol, your grammar is super Amy so it's fine. Might be able to have sometime and practice some word. lol ^^

Looks very nice, my wife is from Pangasinan, we have a house there. :-)

hello @mr-neil Pangasinan is a lovely place as well. I've seen their beaches and they're awesome. ^^

I've read some your other posts and the Phillipines looks very culturally rich... definitely worth a visit someday :-D

Thanks @hoosain that you're happy with my work. I really do appreciate it.

A city of Gentle People must be a delight to live in 🌟

It surely does
^^

Now that's a city i would love to visit :D

It is as always. :) I look forward to it.

That place looks real real nice.

Thanks it is :)

The Steemit Travelling Guru is back at it!

Nice to see you sharing more history and culture with your audience, with the beautiful photos you've got us used to already!

Cheers!

^^ Thanks Rukka! I always go back to what I've always love. I also love getting out of tune too. lol ^^

Beautiful city and the campus is something I really would like to visit sometime.

Yeah I was thinking the same about the campus :)
So is the whole town have a college town vibe? Young population?

@maverickinvictus @eonwarped I only got to the gates. Wasn't able to see the inside but I've read that it is huge place.

When I was there people were just pretty laid back. Didn't see any students because it was a weekend. ^^ But I'd definitely go back. I have some unfinished business. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54