China Trip: AnChang Ancient Town in black and white

in #travel7 years ago

So much to share on my feeling about my visit to China. Some great and some interesting and others not what I would have expected.

This first week has been a full one. Sometimes it feels like one of those vacations that you will need a vacation after the vacation to get some rest. But since I got sick at the beginning, I have taken a few days off from the sightseeing, to not over do it.

This trip to China has a few purposes. First, my wife is on a business trip for the first two weeks and I get to see China for the first time. Secondly, this trip is also for us. We got married last year in the states and never had a ceremony. To my wife and I, that is not a big issue. But her family wants to have a ceremony for us. A traditional Chinese wedding.

So the last weekend of our trip, her family is organizing a ceremony in the village that she grew up in and her mother and older brother still live. This is a village in Putian, about a half hour drive from downtown. I had the opportunity to take photos of the older part of it yesterday, that I will share after I get back. It really shows that older side of China, before the big growth started taking place over the last 20 years in China.

_DSC0486.jpg

The Photos I want to share with you right now are from the AnChang Ancient Town in the Zhejiang Province. This town alone is one reason to visit China. When you are walking on the same ground that was built during the North Song Dynasty (960 - 1127), there is a special energy that comes to you. From what I can find out about the area was destroyed during a war and rebuilt during the Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644).

_DSC0463.jpg

Walking along its waterlogged banks are old traditional merchant shops and living areas. Still filled with the merchants and loads of local people. Feeding, living and still holding together their thousands of years old formations.

This was an extremely hot day but the one side of the bank was covered with an over hang that in its self had stories to tell and at least kept the direct sun off of us. Occasionally you would find an opening down and alleyway that at first glance you would think you were back in the Ming Dynasty, that’s if it wasn’t for the scooters lining the wall. Across the bank of water were other merchants and building lining with an open walkway.

_DSC0506.jpg

One thing I learned from a guide in Hangzhou, is that you will not find in eyesight in a historical area, at ground level any modern building. No structures to take away the feeling that how life was back in its times. And I am sure that other provinces do the same. Great to see a tradition kept alive.

The waterway had old traditional boats that transported people and items up and down the bank of the river. Something tourists can do, but on this hot day, there was not a chance we were going to enjoy that part of the area.

There are known to be seventeen stone walking bridges that cross over between the two sides. I didn’t see all seventeen of them but I will share more photos another time that shows a few them.

Because it was hot and very uncomfortable to stay around for too long, I could imagine the amazing feeling you would get if you are to sit and have some tea along the bank, watching the boats and feeling the history that AnChang Ancient Town can sing to you as the wind blows through the alleyways.

Sort:  

Congratulations @davidmendel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for sharing. This reminded me of the time I went to China in 2008. I cannot believe it is almost already 10 years ago.

Your welcome. I have many more photos to share from​ the trip, so stay tuned​ over the next month.

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

Oh, this is lovely! You have told this very well and I fell like I was there with you! Fantastic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66