Experience Indian City #0 #amazingindia #introduction

in #travel7 years ago

Hi everyone,

Second post in 2 days in Steemit so don’t hesitate to give me feedback.

Before starting posting about the different cities I visited during my 5 months exchange program in India I wanted to make an introduction post.

On June 2016, I received a letter from both my French Engineering School and the Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IITM) saying that I had been accepted!! With this letter, there was several things I needed to do before coming in India.

For Europeans wanting to travel you should know the following things:

  • Check your vaccines especially if you are staying for a few months
  • VISA (don’t do it last minute)
  • Take a power bank, saved my life a few times
  • Bring some earplugs
  • Have a good backpack

Visa.png

To travel I’ve used:

  • bus (redbus website is really good!) time of travel may vary because of traffic but very convenient, this is the transportation I used the most, sleeping bus are a good way to save time and money
  • plane (comparing prices on google flights works perfectly, I mainly used Indigo, if you have a student ID bring it because you can get discounts) always on time I was very impressed
  • train is a great experience the best way is to book it at the hotel where you’re staying

Good phone application:

  • to move around a city OLA or UBER (more expensive but you can still check) useful because no need to bargain with driver, can be good to give you an idea of the price to bargain with other drivers, the problem is that not all cities have it yet.
  • for accommodation OYO is really good and there are always discount after you can use also booking.com and other similar website. Don’t hesitate to go directly to the hotel because you can bargain and get cheaper prices especially in low season.
  • Redbus has an application you can use
  • Indigo (flight) also

I don’t know if I forgot any good tips but if you have feel free to comment!

Sort:  

Congratulations @david795! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45