Bicycle/Camping Trip (Part 1): Gwangju to Mokpo City

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello ^^

I'd like to share my 6 day bicycle/camping trip in South Korea with you. The trip took place over the Chuseok holiday (Korean Thanksgiving).

My goal was to cycle from my home in Gwangju City to a coastal city called Mokpo (about 160 kms away).

From there, I booked a return ferry to beautiful Jeju Island, the only volcanic island in Korea. I would have 5 days to cycle/camp around the island's 234kms coastal bike path.

Below are some pictures from my first day along the picturesque Yeongsan River Trail (Gwangju to Mokpo):DSC_0041.JPG

Simple, cheap setu: tent, sleeping bag and inflatable mat (W50,000 about 50 USD)
Bike rack and bag (W45,000 about 45 USD)

DSC_0045.JPG
Goodbye Gwangju City!

DSC_0047.JPG
Korean wild flowers on the Yeongsan River.

DSC_0053.JPG
Scenery along the way

DSC_0067.JPG
lunch spot ^^

DSC_0068.JPG
Approaching Mokpo, the river mouth widens near this jagged-toothed mountain range.

DSC_0070.JPG
I met a nice guy called Seong Woo on the road. We celebrated reaching Mokpo together!

DSC_0071.JPG
Beer o'clock - well earned after 6 hours on the road!

DSC_0072.JPG
Followed up by some locally caught shrimp cooked in butter.

Thanks for reading, I hope you liked it!
Please follow me @davebgood for Part 2 - coming soon! ^^

Sort:  

Nice scenery. That shrimp looks delish too.

Congratulations @davebgood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50